View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2005, 03:06am
Dommer1 Dommer1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 182
Defense is responsible for new impetus when they muff a ball at rest or nearly at rest, or when they illegaly bat (a kick, fumble, or backward pass after it has hit the ground) or kick a ball.

Also note that the rule about forced touching in the NFL says that in case of forced touching, the touching is NOT disregarded, but charged to the player pushing or blocking!

However, I believe that you would still be deemed to have touched the ball if you attempt to block an opponent, and then the opponent overpowers you. You are then "active" and is responsible for the touch yourself. The clinic was long ago, but I think that's right...
Reply With Quote