The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 21, 2005, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Re: How about this twist re: an onside kick? NF

Quote:
Originally posted by RedCisc
...

NF Case scenario: On an onside kickoff from the A-40, A82 muffs the rolling ball at the A-48, and then falls on the ball at the A-49. After A82 muffed the ball, B51 spun him around by his facemask at the A-48, but A82 was still able to recover the ball there.

...

I understand this to mean that it will be B’s ball at the A-48.

However the last sentence says, "The right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching by K is canceled if R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down."

So does that mean it is A's ball @ A-49?
Proper designations should be K and R, not A and B.

The facemask foul is a loose-ball foul. If K accepts the penalty, enforcement is from the previous spot (in this case K's 40), and the free-kick down will be replayed from R's 45. If the penalty is declined it would, indeed, be R's ball on K's 48.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1