The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2005, 03:13pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by JasonTX
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
While the Federation answer for this one is pretty trivial, the NCAA answer will require some thought:

PLAY: 4th down, A12 punts from his 10. Ball is blocked and rolls into the end zone. A12 recovers in the EZ but then fumbles. Ball rolls out to the 2 and comes to rest. A diving Team B player muffs the ball (not a bat) and ball is knocked back into the EZ where A44 recovers and advances for an apparent 1st down.
NCAA. Ruling: A's ball 1st and 10 at the 20. Reason: The impetus for the ball being in the end zone is from the muff by team B of the "at rest" ball. The recovery by A44 causes the ball to become dead due to the 4th down fumble rule. By rule the ball will come back to the spot of the fumble which is in the end zone in which the impetus was provided by team B.
NF, 1st down for K.

Jason, in NCAA if A12 had recovered his own fumble in the EZ and ran beyond the LTG we would have a down, correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1