The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 08, 2004, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Interesting points about 6.2.6 being brought up. Now for a spin on this. What if this were a punt (ie: a HIGH kick) and R attempted to catch the ball 1 yard beyond the NZ (note: he's still in the ENZ). Assuming he muffs the ball and K recovers who's ball is it?

Now before you're quick to answer here's a couple of rules to look at. There's 6.2.6 which mentions a LOW scrimmage kick. But now consider rule 5.1.3f which uses the word "beyond" in considering who gets the ball.

Hope you're all with me here. A LOW kick gets ignored and you only award to R if it's a muff BEYOND the ENZ. But what about INSIDE the ENZ. Who would you award the ball to?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1