The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member

I am a statistician for the high school football team and I always seem to have different stats for players than the local newspaper writers. Could anyone help me out with these questions?

1. When a running back rushes for a loss of two yards, should two yards be subtracted from his total?

2. If a quarterback is sacked for five yards, does five yards get subtracted from his?

3. How do penalties work with a players yardage? Let's say a running back gain's five yards and there was a 5-yard facemask call against the defender. Does the running back get credited with 10 yards rushing?

4. Is there a good website out there that explains the rules of stats?
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member

Stats are very subjective and sometimes inaccurate, especially if the field is not very well marked. Always credit the rusher with the next yard line as long as he is over a line. For example, if he rushes to just over the 20 going toward the 25, and the ball is spotted barely over the 20, you credit to the 21.

To answer your questions:

Losses are taken away from a rusher. If he has a loss of two yards and had rushed for 60 before that play, his total would be 58.

Sacks are credited as rushing yards to a quarterback, so yes, a sack would be negative rushing yards to a QB. That is why many quarterbacks have negative rushing totals.

Penalties are not included -- in your example, the rush would be 5 yards and then 5 penalty yards. Another case is this: Line of scrimmage at 20 going towards 25.