The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 04, 2004, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
To Bob M.:

1) The ruling does not have to jive with 3-4-2a because 3-4-2b has subsections 1, 2 and 3 that relate to both (a) and (b),

2) I contend that the inbounds tackling of B who is in possession of the ball is an action that requires an officials time out due to the change of team possession. It is not two separate events. This is probably the source of the difference between the "Ready" people and the "Snap" people.

3) As for the "logic" involved, I'm using the end result as a reality check. If we started the clock on the ready after a penalty enforcement, we are declaring that the penalty was the only reason the clock stopped. But the covering official stopped the clock because of something other than the penalty (the truth is, he may not have even known there was a flag, but stopped the clock properly anyway). This holds true for any penalty enforcement. In my last posting, I was not referring to anytime we start the clock on the ready, only when we start the clock on the ready after a penalty. Sorry for my not being clear.

To mcrowder:

The three subsections in 3-4-2b refer to both (a) and (b) so you do not have to have the awarding of a new series for B to have one of the exceptions apply.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1