The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 04, 2004, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
The clock was properly stopped as an officials time out because of the action at the end of the play; specifically, the tackling of B who possessed the ball (a change in team possession).

It is therefore, by rule 3-4-2 (b)3, this same action that does not allow the clock to start until the snap, regardless of whether a penalty was involved.

The logic that says the clock should start on the ready would require you to conclude that the clock should not have been stopped in the first place. But the clock has to stop when the ball became dead, and therefore, it has to only start on the snap.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1