The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 04, 2004, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
AGREE with those who say ON THE READY. Read what Bob M posted. A new series is awarded only after considering any act that occured DURING the down....

Clock starts on the snap only if B is awarded a new series (and this can only occur after we consider any act that occured during the down).

In the play in question, B was NOT awarded a new series. Yes they intercepted the ball and WOULD have had a new series. But they are not AWARDED a new series because they fouled during the down nulifying the new series they would have gotten.

Those of you who are quoting Rule 3-4-2b-3 ("The action that causes the down to end did not also cause the clock to stop") are forgetting how a down ends. A down ends when the ball becomes dead. In this play, how did the ball become dead? A player was tackled inbounds. The interception does not cause the ball to become dead. The change of possession is simply an official's timeout and NOT what caused the down to end.




[Edited by mikesears on Nov 4th, 2004 at 08:29 AM]
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1