The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Federation and NCAA rules differ on this question (surprise...surprise)!

FEDERATION: (jack015 hit the nail on the head) The clock will start on the READY. Remember that the clock starts on the snap NOT for a change of possession, but when B is awarded a new series. Was B awarded a new series? No, because NF 5-1-2 says that a new series is awarded only after considering the effect of any act during the down. So, as long as the penalty is accepted, B will not be awarded a new series. Hence, the only thing that stopped the clock was indeed the foul.

NCAA: The clock will start on the SNAP. NCAA concurs that the clock starts on the snap when B is awarded a new series. However, unlike Fed, NCAA rules award a new series to the team in possession if a change of possession occurs during the down. So since there was a change of possession, B is awarded a new series and that's why the clock stopped. Hence, it will begin again on the SNAP. This is the fundamental difference between NCAA and Fed rules.

mcrowder and theisey...keep me honest on the NCAA rule here.

[Edited by Bob M. on Nov 3rd, 2004 at 04:12 PM]
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1