The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 05:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock2004

Art 3. The snap ends when the ball touches the ground or any player. Interpretation: This completes a legal snap.
Hi Derock,

A question for you.
If the snapper does all the motions of the snap and the ball slips out before he gives it over to the QB what do you have? Live ball backwards pass right?

So what difference does it make to you if the snapper's hand slips on the ball and it stays live (giving the D a chance to recover), or a D slaps his hand and it slips.
Would you have a problem with a blitz that was perfectly timed and the LB crosses the NZ just as the ball starts moving. He has some speed and hits the snapper before the handover to the QB is finished. Bad snap - are you going to rule this a dead ball foul? No, the LB messed up the coordination between snapper and QB.
Or the same situation in shot gun... We are not going to blow it dead if the snap is bad because the snapper got hit while snapping - heck there is a LIVE BALL foul for that in scrimage kick formation.

James
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1