The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: De Pere WI
Posts: 126
A scores TD and sets up in Kick formation for Try. Ball is snapped and Holder rises from kneeling position to grab the snap. Snap did not appear to be errant, but was definitely made so that holder would get up, grab ball, and then ran outside to right and over GL for 2 point.

As Ump, I did see the situation and it looked ok to me, and the rule (don't have number with me) does not state that the holder must have knee on ground. Also, I remember reading a case where it defines it as legal for holder to come off knee to grab an errant snap and go back down on knee to hold the ball for the kicker.

After the play was over and LJ and L agree that it was a good Try. 2 points awarded to A. Then the WH comes over and whispers to myself and the LJ " Are we gonna let that go?" we both agree that we think its legal, WH says ok and is going to research. We awarded the 2 points to A. I cannot seem to find the support in the rule book, other than the rule stating that the kicker may have a teammate hold the ball on a tee (says nothing about the knee). Did we get this right? I think we did.




Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1