View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2004, 03:58pm
GBFBUmp GBFBUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: De Pere WI
Posts: 126
A scores TD and sets up in Kick formation for Try. Ball is snapped and Holder rises from kneeling position to grab the snap. Snap did not appear to be errant, but was definitely made so that holder would get up, grab ball, and then ran outside to right and over GL for 2 point.

As Ump, I did see the situation and it looked ok to me, and the rule (don't have number with me) does not state that the holder must have knee on ground. Also, I remember reading a case where it defines it as legal for holder to come off knee to grab an errant snap and go back down on knee to hold the ball for the kicker.

After the play was over and LJ and L agree that it was a good Try. 2 points awarded to A. Then the WH comes over and whispers to myself and the LJ " Are we gonna let that go?" we both agree that we think its legal, WH says ok and is going to research. We awarded the 2 points to A. I cannot seem to find the support in the rule book, other than the rule stating that the kicker may have a teammate hold the ball on a tee (says nothing about the knee). Did we get this right? I think we did.




Reply With Quote