The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 06, 2004, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Why? If the quarterback fakes a handoff to the runningback, to deceive the defense, is that UC?

Or - if the offense shifts legally to disguise a potentially legal receiver in order to deceive the defense, is that UC?

Or does FED have some rule about using formation to deceive the defense (and if so, how is it worded and how would the 2nd paragraph above be any different from your QB behind the tackle)?

Now... back to the initial question.

The place that a player cannot be is the "slot" that breaks the plane of the ADJACENT player (meaning the tackle, in the case of the QB - NOT meaning the CENTER as stated above). This player is not a back (behind the plane of the tackle/guard/end's hips) and is not a lineman (in front of this plane). If you're reading this to mean a player cannot have his hands under the hips of the tackle, I believe you're misreading the rule (or, as is always possible here ... perhaps the FED rule is curiously and extensively different than NCAA - I don't believe this to be the case, since our rule also talks about "breaking the plane" of the player nearest him on the line.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1