View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 07, 2004, 09:43am
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by Huskerblue
A side not to this: If the back is intentionally lining up behind the tackle to deceive the defense, you could have an UC penalty. Agree?
REPLY: Not at all! All you have is an illegal formation if the ball is snapped while he still is in that position.

The Fed rule defines a lineman in almost an identical way to the NCAA. A back is defined as a Team A player not on the line who "...has no part of his body breaking the plane of an imaginary line drawn parallel to the line of scrimmage through the waist of the NEAREST teammate who is legally on the line." Since he has his hands under the tackles butt, I think that qualifies the tackle as his "nearest teammate legally on the line."
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote