![]() |
|
|||
In this question and answer isn't guard A78 beyond the expanded neutral zone when he catches this pass?
Play Situation 6 Immediately after spending their last time out, A has the ball at the 24 yard line of B, trailing by four points on second down and 7 with three seconds remaining in the game. Quarterback A12 under heavy pressure intends to throw a desperation pass to the end zone but is off balance on his release. The forward pass instead sails high, untouched in the air towards the neutral zone where offensive guard A78 catches it at B's twenty yard line and advances beyond B's goal line. Play Situation 6 answer This is a strange one, but it has happened! Rule 7-5-13 tells us that it is illegal touching if an ineligible A player touches a forward pass in or behind the neutral zone and B has not first touched it. In order for the touchdown to be nullified B must accept the 5 yard, loss of down penalty. Since the clock has expired on the play, A will be awarded an untimed down because of the accepted penalty rule 3-3-3a. It will be third and twelve for A at the B 29 yard line. |
|
|||
I'm a relative newbie, so think I'll take a crack.
It is not pass intereference as the ineligible is in or behind the neutral zone. Now if the ineligible is beyond the neutral zone, I am thinking it is OPI and would also be ineligible downfield. |
|
|||
Texoma you're thinking the right way
If the ball is touched by an ineligible down field it is OPI (FED 7-5-10b)
If the ball is not touched by an ineligible, then you merely have an ineligible down field (FED 7-5-12) -- My3sons, this rule 7-5-13 is the correct ruling in the play provided in Mr. Hayes article.
__________________
Alan Roper Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass |
|
|||
Quote:
Why not send him a note? His email is posted at the bottom of the article.
__________________
Alan Roper Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass |
|
|||
Quote:
Sounds like A78 caught past the NZ..... LOS =24 he catches at 20? OPI in my opinion. BTW, does the rule include the ENZ, or just the NZ for OPI versus touching? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
REPLY: As written, this is OPI. And to answer a question posed above, it is OPI if an ineligible A player touches a forward pass beyond the neutral zone before a player of B has touched it.
__________________
Bob M. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|