The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Darin Hayes Question #6 (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15753-darin-hayes-question-6-a.html)

my3sons Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:37am

In this question and answer isn't guard A78 beyond the expanded neutral zone when he catches this pass?

Play Situation 6
Immediately after spending their last time out, A has the ball at the 24 yard line of B, trailing by four points on second down and 7 with three seconds remaining in the game. Quarterback A12 under heavy pressure intends to throw a desperation pass to the end zone but is off balance on his release. The forward pass instead sails high, untouched in the air towards the neutral zone where offensive guard A78 catches it at B's twenty yard line and advances beyond B's goal line.

Play Situation 6 answer
This is a strange one, but it has happened! Rule 7-5-13 tells us that it is illegal touching if an ineligible A player touches a forward pass in or behind the neutral zone and B has not first touched it.
In order for the touchdown to be nullified B must accept the 5 yard, loss of down penalty. Since the clock has expired on the play, A will be awarded an untimed down because of the accepted penalty rule 3-3-3a. It will be third and twelve for A at the B 29 yard line.

mcrowder Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:42am

Yes, what's your point though?

my3sons Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:44am

My point I guess is that, isn't it offensive pass interferance and not the ruling listed

Texoma_LJ Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:08am

I'm a relative newbie, so think I'll take a crack.
It is not pass intereference as the ineligible is in or behind the neutral zone. Now if the ineligible is beyond the neutral zone, I am thinking it is OPI and would also be ineligible downfield.

jumpmaster Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:33am

Texoma you're thinking the right way
 
If the ball is touched by an ineligible down field it is OPI (FED 7-5-10b)

If the ball is not touched by an ineligible, then you merely have an ineligible down field (FED 7-5-12)

--
My3sons, this rule 7-5-13 is the correct ruling in the play provided in Mr. Hayes article.

my3sons Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:25pm

In this play if A78 is beyond the neutral zone. Then 7-5-10b applies. No B player has touched the ball, wouldn't that be pass interferance. I am going by Table 7-5. Just trying to understand this rule.

Snake~eyes Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:29pm

It is OPI beyond the neutral zone, illegal touching in or behind.

Patton Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:33pm

In the situation, A78 was beyond the expanded neutral zone. Therefore, the correct call is OPI. A would have 3rd and 22 from B's 39 for one untimed down.

jumpmaster Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by my3sons
...The forward pass instead sails high, untouched in the air towards the neutral zone where offensive guard A78 catches it at B's twenty yard line and advances beyond B's goal line...
I read this statement as the ball is caught in or behind the neutral zone. I believe that is Mr. Hayes intent.

Why not send him a note? His email is posted at the bottom of the article.

GBFBUmp Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jumpmaster
Quote:

Originally posted by my3sons
...The forward pass instead sails high, untouched in the air towards the neutral zone where offensive guard A78 catches it at B's twenty yard line and advances beyond B's goal line...
I read this statement as the ball is caught in or behind the neutral zone. I believe that is Mr. Hayes intent.

Why not send him a note? His email is posted at the bottom of the article.


Sounds like A78 caught past the NZ..... LOS =24 he catches at 20? OPI in my opinion. BTW, does the rule include the ENZ, or just the NZ for OPI versus touching?

Patton Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jumpmaster
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by my3sons
[B]...where offensive guard A78 catches it at B's twenty yard line


I read this statement as the ball is caught in or behind the neutral zone. I believe that is Mr. Hayes intent.

How is it caught in or behind the neutral zone when it clearly states B's 20 yard line?

my3sons Wed Oct 06, 2004 01:05pm

I sent an e-mail to Darin a couple of days ago. I am waiting for his reply.

Bob M. Wed Oct 06, 2004 02:20pm

REPLY: As written, this is OPI. And to answer a question posed above, it is OPI if an ineligible A player touches a forward pass beyond the <b>neutral zone</b> before a player of B has touched it.

KSRef Wed Oct 06, 2004 02:34pm

I agree. As written, this is OPI. 15 yards from previous spot, LOSS OF DOWN, and A gets one untimed down. Now - If this had been 4th down, would "A" get an untimed down, or would they have lost that right.

Patton Wed Oct 06, 2004 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by KSRef
If this had been 4th down, would "A" get an untimed down, or would they have lost that right.
B would get one untimed down if this were the case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1