![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The goal line extended only applies to a player in contact with the ground. Here are two plays that might help illustrate this. A1 is running for the goalline. He has the ball in his outside arm. When he is at the B 1/2 yard line, the ball is over the sideline plane, but the player is still running inbounds. He crosses the goal line inbounds with the ball still over the sideline plane. Ruling: Touchdown. A1 is running for the goalline. He has the ball in his outside arm. When he is at the 2 yard line, he leaves his feet and dives toward the pylon and is contacted by B1. The ball crosses the plane of the sideline at the 1 yardline but the players momentum carries him to where he and the ball land out of bounds beyond the goal line extended. Ruling: Ball is placed where it crossed the plane of the sideline. A's ball at the 1 yard line.
__________________
Mike Sears |
Bookmarks |
|
|