The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 10:34am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Patsfan2431
I had an interesting experience yesterday at a sub High School level game and would like to share to get some comments and feedback.

I was doing a game (3-man crew) and i was assigned as the WH. Although the WH assignment was informal, it was clear to me. Get to the game and find out that i was on a crew with a four year man and a rookie (I am in my second year). I was avised when i got there that i should not be WH because i didn't have enough "years" (this was from another 4 year guy that was officiating the game before). As i didn't know any of these guys, i complied. I was the FJ and kept the time.

Let me tell you that i was never embarrassed more in my life than at this game. The WH didn't have a clue how to run the game from the center. Flags would fly (from the other two) and i would have to talk them through what they saw and the enforcement with half of the calls being no foul. I would throw flags and they would be waived off by the WH because he "thought" he saw something different. By the end of the 1st Q, i was literally pushing myself to stay out there. I was pushing not to get on the PA speaker and tell everyone that i was better than this. (of'course i'm not going to put down one of my officials to a non-official)