The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
Question Georgia Tech/Clemson

When Georgia Tech scored the go ahead TD in the fourth quarter last night it appeared after seeing the replay that the GT WR was interfered with. A couple more times through the replay I saw the official signal TD with his flag in his right hand.

Do you throw the flag on a play like that if you know the penalty will be declined by rule?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Re: Georgia Tech/Clemson

Quote:
Originally posted by Cordileran
When Georgia Tech scored the go ahead TD in the fourth quarter last night it appeared after seeing the replay that the GT WR was interfered with. A couple more times through the replay I saw the official signal TD with his flag in his right hand.

Do you throw the flag on a play like that if you know the penalty will be declined by rule?
I do, what if way back near the QB is a holding call against the offense that you didn't see get thrown?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
I didn't see the play, but I think you have to throw the flag... There could always be another foul on the offense...
If there is, and you didn't throw your flag, then you have an awkward situation... Either you have to explain why you have offsetting fouls with only one flag, or you end up not calling the PI foul on the defense...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Re: Georgia Tech/Clemson

Quote:
Originally posted by Cordileran
When Georgia Tech scored the go ahead TD in the fourth quarter last night it appeared after seeing the replay that the GT WR was interfered with. A couple more times through the replay I saw the official signal TD with his flag in his right hand.

Do you throw the flag on a play like that if you know the penalty will be declined by rule?
I would. If it is a foul, recognize it as such. Also, there may be a foul on the offense you are not aware of, so throw the flag to create a double foul situation.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
I saw the play but did not notice the flag in his hand. I thought it was a good no call. The receiver and defender were both jockying for position. My initial reaction was the receiver had pushed off and gained an advantage. On the replay - I thought it was more his jump that caused the seperation. The official may have thought the same.

I'll bet he wanted to hide that flag in a hurry!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
agree

I agree with all the posters. In my inexperience I've been caught trying to hide the flag as well.

I did think the game was extremely well officiated.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2004, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Both NF and NCAA techniques (and good judgement) call for the flag to be thrown even if you think the penalty would be declined by rule. As others have pointed out, you could be wrong. In NF, if there was DPI and no other foul, the penalty could be assessed at the succeeding spot (the try). Right??
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2004, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Both NF and NCAA techniques (and good judgement) call for the flag to be thrown even if you think the penalty would be declined by rule. As others have pointed out, you could be wrong. In NF, if there was DPI and no other foul, the penalty could be assessed at the succeeding spot (the try). Right??
Ohh, that thought didn't even cross my mind but that is another good point.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2004, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 179
Another thought from Georgia Tech-Clemson: What if the Clemson kicker, instead of picking up the ball, had tried to kick it - from the ground - out of the back of the end zone? Obviously, it's illegal kicking and if the penalty is declined, it's a safety. But if Georgia Tech accepts the penalty, is it 15 yards (half the distance in this case) and replay 4th down? I know that under NFHS, illegal kicking does not carry loss of down. But does it under NCAA rules? If not, it would seem that GT, in this situation, would make them re-kick instead of taking the safety.

I remember a similar situation came up in the Tennessee-Arkansas game in 1998 when the Arkansas punter kicked the ball out of his own end zone after a bad snap. The CBS announcers (I believe Sean McDonough was one) were trying to say that UT should have the ball 1-G at the ARK 2 since the kick was from the ARK 4 (half distance, loss of down). Of course, we all know how much TV announcers know. But UT took the safety and, thanks to Clint Stoerner's fumble, went on to win the game and the national championship.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1