The Official Forum

The Official Forum (
-   Football (
-   -   Encroachment? (

Texoma_LJ Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:50am

A is making their normal substitutions and WH marks ball ready for play. Member of A in trying to gett of the field crosses the neutral zome as he is heading off to his sidelines. Rule 2-8 allows for a substitute to cross the neutral zone in getting on the field, but what about when leaving the field ?

Bob Mc Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:44pm

2.8 states "Encroachment occurs when a player..." 2.30.1 gives the definition of a player. It goes on to say that a player continues to be a player until a substitute enters the field and indicates to the player that he is replaced, or when the substitute otherwise becomes a player.
My take on this would be that, since by definition the person going off is not a player that the same thing would apply as a substitute coming onto the field.

dumbref Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:46pm

2-30-12 talks about when a player becomes a replaced player. If he is no longer a player, he can no longer encroach. The entering substitute may have already technically become a player prior to crossing the neutral zone. He may have communicated with an official or a teammate. But for encroachment purposes, he is still considered a substitute until he crosses the neutral zone.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1