The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
For Jeff

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:
Originally posted by Blue37
5 man crew, 15 seconds to go in the game. B leads 21 to 17. A has the ball on B1, 4th and goal. They run a QB sneak, and the QB is stacked up at the goal line and pushed back. R, U, and BJ cannot tell whether he scored. L goes up with the TD signal but LJ signals him down short of the goal. You are the R so you huddle with the crew. Now remember that neither you, the U, or the BJ have anything to offer as to whether the QB scored. Both your endmen are adamant that their call is correct and neither will back down. How do you resolve this without overruling one or the other?
First of all, you cannot overrule anyone if no decision has been made. Both officials made a signal, but you cannot have both. Someone was not supposed to signal at all. So this is not an "overrule" when someone had a brain fart and did something they were not suppose to.

I have had this happen as a Referee. You use common sense than talk to both officials. Usually you stick with the official's call that had the ball come to their side. If someone is blocked off you might give the call to the other side. The bottom line is that there is no good that can come out of conflicting signals. If anything, try to prevent it. The wings should pinch if they are not sure, and then rule a TD after the play is dead if necessary. The wings should also look at each other if there is any question as to if he got across.

Peace
The play was a QB sneak right up the gut. Does the call belong to the L or the LJ? In my scenario, both were certain of what they saw. Logic tell us that one of them saw it incorrectly, but neither were willing to back down and change their own call.

Maybe my confusion is that I do not understand the definition of "decision" and "overrule". Until your post, I thought the L made a decision when he signaled TD, and I thought the LJ made a decision when he signaled no TD. If, as you assert, the decision is not made until the call is final, then there is never an overrule. If a flag is thrown for a clip, but the Referee, with no discussion, tells the official to put his flag back in his pocket and the game goes on without a penalty being assessed, that is not an "overrule" as it occurred before the final "decision" was made. If we had all been working from these definitions, the discussion whould have ended long ago.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1