The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 21, 2004, 02:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Quote:
Originally posted by PSU213
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim S
Since the pass was not in the air the only foul here could be holding for contacting a receiver who was no longer a potential blocker.
However if he said yes, your next question would be "For what foul?"
Actually the better response after he said no to your questions about what happened would be to say, "Then we really DON'T have a foul here, do we?"

You would not be overruling him at this point. He has told you that there was no foul that fits the rules and the situation, and that he has incorrectly applied the rules. As the referee it is your job then to get the correct call. Wipe it off. Discuss it later.
Technically, contacting the receiver is illegal use of hands, but the holding signal is given, and it is a 10 yard penalty. As for the "overruling" issue, I agree with Jim S.
You are indeed correct. I was reading the wrong letter in the penalty. c. instead of d.
Of course we changed to the holding signal fairly recently.. when the ilegal block to the back took over the illegal use of hands signal.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1