The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2004, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Question

I had a coach ask me about blocking techniques the other day. I believe I was correct in the answer, but would like to get other's opinion. He would like to teach his 9th grade strong- side linemen to make initial contact and then change to a crab block. I told him blocking below the waste in the NZ was legal as long as the ball is still in the NZ.

Does anyone see any errors in my ways? BTW, I told him with the ball leaving the NZ quickly these days, that crab blocking has lost some of its effectiveness. Thanks for any comments.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2004, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 489
Smile Good question.

Yes, you are correct but remember this:

Assuming National Federation rules: the tackle can make his initial block above the defender's waist and then, as part of the same continuous block (tackle's contact on defender is not lost), the tackle may slide down and perform a crab block against the defender.

This may be done anywhere on the field. The free blocking zone only applies when the initial contact is below the waist.

So to answer your question, any player, at any time during the play, anywhere on the field, may make a legal block and then while in continuous contact with his opponent slide down into a crab block.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Mike Simonds
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Everything Mike said sounds good to me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2004, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Smile

thanks for the comments, guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2004, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: I also agree with Mike. But I hope that you didn't give the coach the mistaken impression that the only requirement for a legal BBW is that the ball must still be in the zone. You may have answered his specific question but unintentionally misled him about BBWs in general.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1