The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2003, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
I agree that starting on the “ready” would be the right call, but for the life of me I cant find this in the "Book" . I first looked at NF 7-5-2d
“ An illegal forward pass is a foul. The illegal forward passes are:
d: A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time.”

This seems to fit as far as the pass goes. Then I went to NF 3-4-3f
“The clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the clock was stopped because:”.
e: A legal or illegal forward pass is incomplete.
All this seems to indicate starting on the snap. Help me out here guys. What am I missing?
Have to agree this was a violation under 7-5-2d, intentional grounding, five-yards from the spot and loss of down and the clock starts on the snap under 3-4-3e.

In other words A bought a timeout.

Of course, there is probably going to be a timeout while coach A debates that "stupid" call; after all, they do it on Sunday (NFL).
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1