The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2003, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Sorry I was not clear. In adjusting to the pass, the DB inadvertently stepped on the sideline; then returned to intercept the pass. The LJ dropped his cap to indicate the player had stepped OOB and almost immediately signaled incomplete. The player was knocked OOB just after the catch, so he may have waited until the end of the play. I saw no flag and there was no penalty yardage accessed. I do not claim to know the NCAA rules and do not know if any penalty should be accessed. I think the penalty is loss of down without any yardage. I'll you NCAA guys address that if you like.

The point I wanted to make is under NF rules it would be different. 9-6-1 states ... "no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent." ... Under NF rules, the DB in this case could return and the interception would stand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1