The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2003, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 489
Thumbs down The final result of the play is the key.

I don't agree with you. The final result of the play is the determining factor. If you read rule 10-4-5-d, the spot of enforcement would be B's 20 (the succeeding spot) if the final result of the play was a touchback. In this case the final result of the play was not a touchback.

That is why you must ask yourself this question: What would happen if B declines A's foul? The final result of the play would be A's ball first and goal at B's 2 yard line.

Therefore, if B accepts A's foul, you must apply rule 10-5-2. The end of B's run is in B's end zone, and there was a foul by A during the down prior to a change of possession (A's recovery of the fumble).
__________________
Mike Simonds
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1