The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 75
Intercepts in end

B-5 intercepts a pass at B’s 4yd line. B-5 then retreats into his own end zone where he is tackled by A73. During his tackle ,A73 grabs and twist B-5”s face mask,causing the ball to be fumbled out of the end zone and recovered by B at the 2-yard line.
I need help on the enforcement?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 08:39am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,135
When you initially say "tackled by" I am thinking the play is over.

But since that does not appear to be the case, then you have a penalty by A in the endzone and the basic spot is the GL. The ball was dead at the 4 so you would enforce the penalty at the 4 and to the 19, 1st and 10 B's ball.

Now you also said B retreated into the EZ. That is not the momentum exception if you take yourself into the EZ. So based on the description, that does not apply. And it exception would end anyway because the ball was not dead in the field of play either. So it would not apply if there was momentum.

Peac
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 75
Why did the play end at the 4 when he ran the ball into the end zone on his own? Why is it first and 10 from the 19?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:26am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands View Post
Why did the play end at the 4 when he ran the ball into the end zone on his own? Why is it first and 10 from the 19?
Going by your description, it matters how he got into the EZ. So if momentum takes place, then all that does is protect the player from a safety if the ball ends in the EZ.

The play did not end in the EZ and in NF rules the result of the play is the ball being out at the 4 because you can fumble the ball forward and the ball goes to the spot it is dead if going out of bounds.

So the enforcement spot actually is the GL and should be on the 15, because the foul took place in the EZ. So 1st and 10 at B's 15.

I must qualify something. This is if you do not rule momentum on the interception. If you rule momentum then the ball enforcement is from the 4 as originally said. But it sounds like there was no momentum based on your OP.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Wed Aug 18, 2021 at 09:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The play did not end in the EZ and in NF rules the result of the play is the ball being out at the 4 because you can fumble the ball forward and the ball goes to the spot it is dead if going out of bounds.
I think part of the the confusion here is that the OP has the fumble recovery and dead ball spot at B2, not B4.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 75
Thanks it was not momentum that took him into the end zone.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 10:09am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Going by your description, it matters how he got into the EZ. So if momentum takes place, then all that does is protect the player from a safety if the ball ends in the EZ.

The play did not end in the EZ and in NF rules the result of the play is the ball being out at the 4 because you can fumble the ball forward and the ball goes to the spot it is dead if going out of bounds.

So the enforcement spot actually is the GL and should be on the 15, because the foul took place in the EZ. So 1st and 10 at B's 15.

I must qualify something. This is if you do not rule momentum on the interception. If you rule momentum then the ball enforcement is from the 4 as originally said. But it sounds like there was no momentum based on your OP.

Peace
This. It all goes back to definitions. When the mask was grabbed, it was a running play for B. The end of the related run was, by rule, the goal line. So it's B's ball at the 15 yard line 1/10. Clock SNAP/25.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 10:19am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands View Post
Thanks it was not momentum that took him into the end zone.
That is what I figured, but some people think anytime you go into the EZ that automatically means momentum. Your wording made me think that is not what you were trying to suggest.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 01:53pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Keep in mind that if the pass forced the ball into the end zone, the basic spot on this would be the 20. This isn't the case on this play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 02:31pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,135
That is a very good point, that changes the dynamic of that play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 03:37pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
Quote:
This. It all goes back to definitions. When the mask was grabbed, it was a running play for B. The end of the related run was, by rule, the goal line. So it's B's ball at the 15 yard line 1/10. Clock SNAP/25.
Same conclusion we reached over on Refstripes to the same play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1