View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:26am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands View Post
Why did the play end at the 4 when he ran the ball into the end zone on his own? Why is it first and 10 from the 19?
Going by your description, it matters how he got into the EZ. So if momentum takes place, then all that does is protect the player from a safety if the ball ends in the EZ.

The play did not end in the EZ and in NF rules the result of the play is the ball being out at the 4 because you can fumble the ball forward and the ball goes to the spot it is dead if going out of bounds.

So the enforcement spot actually is the GL and should be on the 15, because the foul took place in the EZ. So 1st and 10 at B's 15.

I must qualify something. This is if you do not rule momentum on the interception. If you rule momentum then the ball enforcement is from the 4 as originally said. But it sounds like there was no momentum based on your OP.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Wed Aug 18, 2021 at 09:32am.
Reply With Quote