The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The play did not end in the EZ and in NF rules the result of the play is the ball being out at the 4 because you can fumble the ball forward and the ball goes to the spot it is dead if going out of bounds.
I think part of the the confusion here is that the OP has the fumble recovery and dead ball spot at B2, not B4.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Thanks it was not momentum that took him into the end zone.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 10:19am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands View Post
Thanks it was not momentum that took him into the end zone.
That is what I figured, but some people think anytime you go into the EZ that automatically means momentum. Your wording made me think that is not what you were trying to suggest.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 01:53pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Keep in mind that if the pass forced the ball into the end zone, the basic spot on this would be the 20. This isn't the case on this play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 02:31pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,563
That is a very good point, that changes the dynamic of that play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2021, 03:37pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
This. It all goes back to definitions. When the mask was grabbed, it was a running play for B. The end of the related run was, by rule, the goal line. So it's B's ball at the 15 yard line 1/10. Clock SNAP/25.
Same conclusion we reached over on Refstripes to the same play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1