![]() |
|
|||
Fair Catch signal question.
Case -
K team punts ball high in air. Two return players are back deep. R1 waves his arms side to side (penalty decline signal) telling teammates to get away from the kick. R2 catches the ball of the bounce and returns it. Is this illegal? What if R1 would have fielded it instead of R2? Thanks in advance! |
|
|||
There has been nothing at the NF level at least that suggests this is an invalid signal at all. Maybe your state has made some interpretation on the issue, which is allowed by them, but not from the NF level. This is a legal play and can advance the ball if someone picks up to return the punt on a scrimmage kick.
This is after all dead in college upon the recovery of the punt by R. Different levels have different interpretations. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
And remember that R does not receive protection-it's not a fair catch. We've been told here that it's the "get away" signal is invalid. |
|
|||
Quote:
Just trying to figure out what kind of gesture they can make that won't be taken as a fair catch signal. |
|
|||
Once again (or maybe "Still") it's a matter of "common sense" on the part of the covering official, to DETERMINE if whatever "signal" was given was innocuous and immaterial, or misleading (and therefore Invalid).
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
During a scrimmage kick, R1 signals for a fair catch by: (a) extending and holding one arm above his head; or (b) partially extending and waving one hand in front of his face; or (c) fully extending and laterally waving both hands above his head or in front of the body without extending one hand at arm’s length above his head; or (d) extending and laterally waving one arm at full length above his head. RULING: The signals in (a), (b) and (c) are invalid. In (d), the signal is valid. Giving an invalid signal is a foul for which the penalty is enforced under the post-scrimmage kick provision. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Any waving kills the ball.
|
|
|||
This play is suggesting this is a penalty. It is not just suggesting it just kills the play.
I'm sorry, but I have never heard that suggested. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I was responding to his inquiry about what we have been told in my area.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fair Catch signal | john_faz | Football | 6 | Mon Aug 30, 2010 01:34pm |
Fair Catch Signal?? | YellowFlag | Football | 4 | Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:09am |
Fair Catch Signal | Samdog | Football | 18 | Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:58pm |
Fair Catch Signal | jmctigerpaw | Football | 5 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 09:54am |