The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2017, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Sounds like the "force" begun by the snap, never ended, and the result would be a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2017, 09:19pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Safety.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2017, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheump View Post
safety.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2017, 03:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 34
That's what I had. The fact that the ball hit the ground first does not change who provided the initial force.....A's snap. This play actually happened in a game and the R initially ruled safety but then changed it to touchback.

Now if the ball was on the ground slowly rolling around in the field of play and B muffs it which causes the ball to go in to A's end zone then that's when either a safety or touchback is the call if the covering official determines that B's muff was a new force or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2017, 03:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 34
That's what I had, safety. The fact that the ball hit the ground first does not change who provided the initial force which was the snap by A. This play actually happened in a game and the R first ruled safety but then changed it to touchback.

Now if the loose ball was slowly rolling on the ground in the field of play and B's muff causes it to go in to A's end zone, that is when the result would either be a safety or touchback if the covering official determines that B's muff constitutes a new force or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 06:51am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Judgment call by the covering official. If the ball wouldn't have gone into the EZ except for B's muff, it's a TB. Otherwise, a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 12:12pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
Judgment call by the covering official. If the ball wouldn't have gone into the EZ except for B's muff, it's a TB. Otherwise, a safety.
It better be obvious that is not the case, otherwise the wize thing to do is make it a safety.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 44
Snapping from inside the 5, I'm going to need to see a whole heck of a lot to deem this a touchback. 99/100 this will be a safety.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force Play MOofficial Softball 13 Thu Oct 11, 2007 02:38pm
Force Play rottiron01 Softball 32 Fri Aug 31, 2007 07:04pm
Force Play brandda Baseball 1 Sun May 19, 2002 01:17am
Third out without a force play collinb Softball 5 Thu May 03, 2001 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1