The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 31, 2016, 01:45am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
So, let me ask regarding NCAA rules.

Without the IW, what is the enforcement spot for holding during the punt? Does it matter whether the hold was before or after the kick?

Does the IW change this equation? Given that this was reviewed in the booth, I have to assume the booth got the ruling correct.
I would have to look this up to be a 100 percent sure, but a penalty if enforced, makes the IW not applicable to the enforcement. If they decline the penalty, then you have to give the option to the team in possession. At least that is clearly the NF application. I believe or have no reason to believe the rule in college is any different.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 31, 2016, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I would have to look this up to be a 100 percent sure, but a penalty if enforced, makes the IW not applicable to the enforcement. If they decline the penalty, then you have to give the option to the team in possession. At least that is clearly the NF application. I believe or have no reason to believe the rule in college is any different.
But in the case of the acceptance of a penalty for a foul by R during a kick that ends with an IW, where would it be enforced from? End of the kick, i.e. where the ball was when the whistle was heard?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 31, 2016, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
But in the case of the acceptance of a penalty for a foul by R during a kick that ends with an IW, where would it be enforced from? End of the kick, i.e. where the ball was when the whistle was heard?
No, the spot where the ball is when the whistle sounds is not the enforcement spot. In the case of an IW during this loose ball, the only enforcement spot is the previous spot in this case. However, replay should have ruled immediate recovery. If that had happened, you now have possession (and therefore the end of the kick). Enforce the hold from that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2017, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Here is the ruling from the NCAA rulebook. The decision to penalize from the previous spot was correct, IF you rule an IW on the play. I stand with other individuals who have stated that there was an immediate act of recovery of the loose ball by VT, therefore the ball should have been given to VT at the point of the recovery minus the 10 yards for the holding penalty during the kick.

Live Ball Becomes Dead—ARTICLE 2
Approved Ruling 4-1-2
I. Fourth and 16 at the 50-yard line, Team A kicks. B1 clips on Team
B’s 40-yard line, and B2 muffs the kick on the 25-yard line. While
the ball is loose, an inadvertent whistle is sounded. RULING: If
Team A accepts the penalty, penalize Team B from the 50-yard line.
Team A’s ball, first and 10 on the 35-yard line. If Team A declines
the penalty, repeat the down.

For reference I have included some additional rules from the book.

Loose ball ruled dead, or live ball ruled dead in possession of a ball
carrier when the clear recovery of a loose ball occurs in the immediate
continuing action.
1. If the ball is ruled dead and the replay official does not have
indisputable video evidence as to which team recovers, the deadball
ruling stands.
2. If the replay official rules that the ball was not dead, it belongs to
the recovering team at the spot of the recovery and any advance is
nullified.

Last edited by chapmaja; Mon Jan 02, 2017 at 09:49am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2017, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Is video replay the only possible exception to 4-1-2b.2 or 3? Say a receiver signals legally for a legal fair catch, and an official blows a whistle shortly before the receiver actually does catch the ball, in a game where no video is available. Could you make an equitable ruling that the whistle could neither have contributed to nor prevented the catch at that spot? And take away the kicking team's option to repeat the down, and if there was a foul during the kick apply post-kick enforcement provisions? In effect proceed as if the whistle sounded after the catch?

BTW, as I look at the video, I see no good clear case for the receiving team player's having gained possession soon enough that ruling recovery wouldn't violate the spirit of the IW provisions. I can't be sure that hearing the whistle didn't affect the players' actions, and the last thing you want is for players to not respect the whistle. I could call it "immediately continuing action" if there weren't an opposing player's hands so close to the ball at the time of the whistle. It may also be that #36 would've overrun the ball if he hadn't started slowing down in rxn to the whistle!

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Mon Jan 02, 2017 at 10:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2017, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
But in the case of the acceptance of a penalty for a foul by R during a kick that ends with an IW, where would it be enforced from? End of the kick, i.e. where the ball was when the whistle was heard?
The key to getting this right is the spot of the foul. Under the inadvertent whistle rule, the penalty is administered as determined by the basic spot. If the spot of the foul was beyond the expanded neutral zone, it would be a PSK foul enforced from the end of the kick. If the foul was in or behind the expanded neutral zone, it would be a loose ball foul enforced from the previous spot.

The foul was reported as “Holding,” and there was a flag near the expanded neutral zone, around the 21 yard line. Most likely a Receiver grabbed a Gunner and wouldn’t let him off the line. In that case, it would be a previous spot enforcement and, if NCAA is the same as NFHS, the crew got it right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 03, 2017, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Middleman View Post
The key to getting this right is the spot of the foul. Under the inadvertent whistle rule, the penalty is administered as determined by the basic spot. If the spot of the foul was beyond the expanded neutral zone, it would be a PSK foul enforced from the end of the kick. If the foul was in or behind the expanded neutral zone, it would be a loose ball foul enforced from the previous spot.

The foul was reported as “Holding,” and there was a flag near the expanded neutral zone, around the 21 yard line. Most likely a Receiver grabbed a Gunner and wouldn’t let him off the line. In that case, it would be a previous spot enforcement and, if NCAA is the same as NFHS, the crew got it right.
It depends when the foul occurred:1) Before the kick; 2) During the kick; 3) During the return

If it happened before the kick, the enforcement spot is the previous spot. If it happened during the kick, the enforcement is the PSK spot.

Most holding of the gunner is always enforced as a PSK spot. Holding fouls that are usually enforced at the prior spot are the "pull and shoot"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2017, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I would have to look this up to be a 100 percent sure, but a penalty if enforced, makes the IW not applicable to the enforcement. If they decline the penalty, then you have to give the option to the team in possession. At least that is clearly the NF application.
I’m not sure what you’re trying to say about giving a team an option. Under FED rules, if the penalty is declined then there is no option. The down must be replayed.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2017, 11:39pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Middleman View Post
I’m not sure what you’re trying to say about giving a team an option. Under FED rules, if the penalty is declined then there is no option. The down must be replayed.
The option goes to the team that is the offended team of the penalty. They could decline the penalty. And if you accept the penalty, the IW is ignored or not applied.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIU-Arkansas St. ruling TriggerMN Football 6 Fri Oct 21, 2011 02:54pm
Illegal Touching, Fumble on punt bossman72 Football 12 Mon Dec 03, 2007 08:03pm
LSU vs Arkansas jwwashburn Football 7 Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:12pm
Arkansas-Florida Muffed Punt BoomerSooner Football 11 Mon Dec 04, 2006 03:35pm
Memphis/Arkansas rainmaker Basketball 2 Fri Jan 04, 2002 02:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1