The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
The IFP is considered a running play, and should the enforcement result in A being granted a 1st down, the game clock would start on the RFP
But what about 3-4-2 and 3-4-3(e)? Incomplete forward pass (doesn't matter whether it's a legal one), stopping the clock, and then 3-4-2 referring to clock stoppages under 3-4-3? Seems to me the clock has to stay stopped barring invocation of 3-4-6. Pretty good tactical foul by team A if that's not invoked; the extra time they'll get to pick a play is probably worth the distance they'll give up, when they have to go for the touchdown in just 5 secs. Of course the player could instead have thrown a legal backwards pass out of bounds & probably reduced that distance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
But what about 3-4-2 and 3-4-3(e)? Incomplete forward pass (doesn't matter whether it's a legal one), stopping the clock, and then 3-4-2 referring to clock stoppages under 3-4-3? Seems to me the clock has to stay stopped barring invocation of 3-4-6. Pretty good tactical foul by team A if that's not invoked; the extra time they'll get to pick a play is probably worth the distance they'll give up, when they have to go for the touchdown in just 5 secs. Of course the player could instead have thrown a legal backwards pass out of bounds & probably reduced that distance.
Where are you going with this? IFP is considered a foul during a running play, and enforcement is from the end of the run (spot of the pass). Enforcement is from the Basic Spot, which provides the clock starting on the RFP (when the result is a continuous 1st down)

As for whether it's a 1st down, or not, depends ENTIRELY on whether the subsequent spot places the ball beyond, or behind, the LTG. That depends on how that precise spot was determined. (any and all efforts (mechanics) to insure precision in making that determination are appropriate and appreciated).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 78
10-3-1, is the reference for the clock status.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG UMP View Post
10-3-1, is the reference for the clock status.
I don't see any mention in Fed 10-3-1 of anything about timing. Was there a recent inclusion of such a provision?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
IFP is considered a running play (as defined by 10-3-1, as opposed to a loose-ball play). That the play ended when the IFP hit the ground doesn't change that designation.

The basic spot for a running play is the "End of the Run (with the exception of an ABO situation) NFHS 3-4-3 determines when the clock starts with a snap, which does not include when a team gains a (continuous) first down (which is what this question is ALL ABOUT).

As suggested, when the succeeding spot left "A" behind the LTG, the "loss of down' provision of IFP would end the series for "A", starting a new series for "B" for which (according to 3-4-3) begins with a snap. Since , in this example, "A" earned a "continuous" new series, the clock starts on the RFP.

NFHS: 3-4-6 is simply not a relevant factor, in this scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
NFHS 3-4-3 determines when the clock starts with a snap, which does not include when a team gains a (continuous) first down (which is what this question is ALL ABOUT).
No, but it does include when there's an incomplete pass. The first down's occurrence doesn't negate the incomplete pass's occurrence. In fact, 3-4-2 says the provisions of 3-4-3 supersede it: "for any reason other than specified in rule 3-4-3". So the only way I see the clock starting on the RFP if team A retains the ball is 3-4-6.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2016, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
I don't see any mention in Fed 10-3-1 of anything about timing. Was there a recent inclusion of such a provision?
Wasn't that your original question? (I'm interested in the clock status. If team A winds up with first down, and a stopped clock (with a lot of time taken for administration before the RFP, even w/o the possibly tricky measurement) for the incompletion, it seems they've gained a good deal for their illegal forward pass. Consider that the passer was well beyond the neutral zone when he let fly; seems like a deliberate attempt to conserve time. Would you invoke 3-4-6 and start the clock on the RFP? Seems the least you could do in the situation).

Either "A" made the 1st down, clock starts on the ready, or they didn't and "B" then starts a new series, clock starts on the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2016, 12:45pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
We know that from 3-4-3e that an incomplete illegal forward pass would result in the clock being started at the snap.

In this case though I think an argument can be made for starting the clock on the ready via 3-4-6 considering the situation.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2016, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Case book 3.4.6 Situation A allows for an incomplete illegal forward pass to be started on the RFP.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2016, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Wasn't that your original question?
Quote:
(I'm interested in the clock status. If team A winds up with first down, and a stopped clock (with a lot of time taken for administration before the RFP, even w/o the possibly tricky measurement) for the incompletion, it seems they've gained a good deal for their illegal forward pass. Consider that the passer was well beyond the neutral zone when he let fly; seems like a deliberate attempt to conserve time. Would you invoke 3-4-6 and start the clock on the RFP? Seems the least you could do in the situation).
Either "A" made the 1st down, clock starts on the ready,
Because of which timing provision? 3-4-6 or something else?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2016, 02:34pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post

Either "A" made the 1st down, clock starts on the ready
That is not correct per the rule I cited earlier unless the Referee decides to invoke 3-4-6 and wind it on the ready.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2016, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
That is not correct per the rule I cited earlier unless the Referee decides to invoke 3-4-6 and wind it on the ready.
After re-reading 3-4-3-e (more carefully), I'd agree with you. Thanks for pointing that out.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2016, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Where are you going with this? IFP is considered a foul during a running play, and enforcement is from the end of the run (spot of the pass). Enforcement is from the Basic Spot, which provides the clock starting on the RFP (when the result is a continuous 1st down)
But the action which caused the down to end (incomplete forward pass) also caused the clock to be stopped -- so this is not a case under 3-4-2 for the clock to start on the RFP, because of 3-4-2b.3. Didn't we settle it here just a short while ago that the clock status is determined by how the ball became dead on such a down, where the foul was during the down? Where is there anything in the Fed rules that would supsersede that, other than 3-4-6? The foul may have occurred during a running play, but the down still ended with an incomplete forward pass, so I don't see how the enforcement spot has anything to do with the timing provisions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1