![]() |
|
|
|||
Pylon
1. If the properly placed pylon is "out of bounds" (1-4) why do we consider a ball in player possession (A runner going towards B' goal line) that touches the pylon a TD?
2. Kick off heading towards EZ, hits one of the front pylons: Touch back or Kick out of bounds? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That is my thought as well and yet two things.
1. I can't find "behind the goal line" as a part of the definition of the properly placed pylon. 2. The outside edge of the pylon is technically out of bounds if properly placed. I am not suggesting or arguing that either of these should not be a TD or TB (as appropriate) yet the NFHS language should be more specific in clarifying this. |
|
|||
Quote:
When flags were used, that could sometimes be a problem. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Look at it this way: If you don't call it a TD, where you gonna spot the ball?
|
|
|||
This is one where I maintain the official ruling is wrong. I say that if it hits the side facing the opposite sideline, then it crossed the GL before going OOB and is a touchback. If it hits the side facing the opposite end line, then it went OOB before crossing the goal line and should be marked at the R1.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Forget about it hitting the pylon for a moment. You are standing at the pylon for a kickoff. From here you clearly see the ball crosses the plane of the sideline before reaching the goal line. It then lands two yards behind the goal line and five yards OOB. Is this a touchback?
|
|
|||
Quote:
But you're asking the wrong question. What you should be asking is: Can the ball touch the pylon without breaking the GL plane (extended)? The answer is "no". The reason for having pylons is to give the players and officials an easy vertical reference point for the location of the intersection of the goal line and sideline. Defining the pylon as being OOB behind the GL makes it simple to officiate. |
|
|||
But my entire point is that in order to hit the face of the pylon that is facing the opposite end line, the ball must have cross the sideline first before it hit the pylon.
If the kick that lands 5 yards OOB is not a touchback because it crosses the sideline before it crosses the goal line, why is it a touchback just because it hits the pylon? |
|
|||
Quote:
Actually the rule reads "When properly placed, the goal line pylon is out of bounds at the intersection of the sideline and goal line extended". So if one considers the goal line extension, the pylon would be completely in the end zone. So on scrimmage kicks and free kicks where the ball hits the pylon before going OOB it actually breaks the plane of the goal line. Result is a touchback. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pylon Play | swkansasref33 | Football | 2 | Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:35am |
Pylon in or out of bounds? | mtridge | Football | 4 | Sun Aug 19, 2012 04:10pm |
JAX/HOU pylon | PSU213 | Football | 6 | Thu Dec 04, 2008 02:49pm |
NFL Rules and Pylon | bisonlj | Football | 24 | Tue Oct 17, 2006 04:43pm |
IP and the Pylon | ljudge | Football | 10 | Wed Aug 04, 2004 03:26pm |