The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2016, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
It was under 3 seconds from when it was dropped, and picked up by the 3rd guy
Actually, it was OVER 3 seconds. I timed it several times, all in the 3 second plus range between the time the ball was dropped and when it was then touched.

Immediately means, to me, that the player doesn't break stride in going for the ball. 2 Texas players ran by the ball and a third (or fourth) picked it up but had no intention on continuing to play. That, to me, doesn't satisfy the rule.

I think we agree on the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2016, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Doesn't "immediately" start when the ball stops moving?

Another question. Say you are the official ... and you DO see the ball drop before reaching the goal line. Then the rest of the play unfolds as it did. Do you stop play and rule this fumble unrecovered before the Texas player picks it up?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2016, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
The freeze frame of the moment of drop had the runner's extended left right just at/above the goal line, so the ball was easily well short. Now whether it was 1 yd or 3/4 of a yd? Who cares. Cal's ball on the 1 yd line or the .75 yd line or even the 0.5 line, but no chance it was over the goal line. Game over...score more pts next time, TX.

Edited to add: photographic proof....ball is already well out of his hand and still closer to the 1 yd line than the goal line. And neither of the two TX dudes even attempted to pick it up, the 3rd guy on the scene did - and that was only to give it to the ref. That's not in the immediate continuing action to me.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CsncxhmUAAAI0pX.jpg

Last edited by scrounge; Wed Sep 21, 2016 at 07:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2016, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 276
The B gave a signal (TD) that caused a live ball to become dead, which is adjudicated the same as an inadvertent whistle (4-1-2-b-2).

Last edited by InsideTheStripe; Wed Sep 21, 2016 at 09:08pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texas-Butler kick-out play (Video) AremRed Basketball 7 Sat Mar 21, 2015 02:37am
Kansas v Texas: Close Block/Charge Play APG Basketball 115 Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:49pm
Appeal play in Texas Welpe Softball 13 Wed May 16, 2012 06:28pm
Texas vs Texas Tech Play carldog Basketball 7 Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm
Texas/Texas Tech officials johnSandlin Basketball 4 Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1