Maybe not, but I thought you were making a distinction between an illegal forward pass and intentional grounding. IG is a form of an illegal forward pass. Many don't know this, especially as it relates to using this rule instead of an illegal touching foul -- when there is no eligible receiver in the area and the QB throws it to a guard or tackle. If the QB is still in the pocket or the pass doesn't cross the line, the correct call is illegal forward pass rather than illegal touching.
That just came up a week ago or so in a discussion of Fed rules, which are substantially the same on this point.
golfnref
Thu Sep 15, 2016 03:53pm
According to the MAC website all 10 officials received a 2 game suspension.