The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   OSU-Central Michigan finish (https://forum.officiating.com/football/101623-osu-central-michigan-finish.html)

JRutledge Tue Sep 13, 2016 11:26am

Here is the play and the ending embedded.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/0SjFnVN8sXk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/x4hwVBefy_I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

scrounge Tue Sep 13, 2016 12:13pm

yea, it wasn't to conserve time, quite the opposite...but it WAS to conserve yardage in a sense; that is, not getting sacked and giving the other team any yardage. I'm perfectly fine with the call, but the enforcement? Oy.

But it made choosing a topic for our pre-game this week pretty easy!

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990779)
Forgive me, but what part of NFHS 7-5-2-e "An illegal forward pass is a foul. Illegal forward passes include:
a
b
c
d
e. A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time."

does NOT apply specifically to the action described in this situation?

None of them do.
Quote:

The key differential between this play and your example seems to be intent, as determined by the covering official (duly empowered to render such judgments).
Exactly, that's what I'm saying. It was not intended to save yardage or time.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 990788)
yea, it wasn't to conserve time, quite the opposite...but it WAS to conserve yardage in a sense; that is, not getting sacked and giving the other team any yardage.

No, it wasn't to conserve yardage. They'd've been happy to concede the yardage had time already elapsed. What not getting sacked did was keep the ball live for a few more secs.

ajmc Tue Sep 13, 2016 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990790)
None of them do.

Exactly, that's what I'm saying. It was not intended to save yardage or time.

Robert, it was intended to DEPRIVE the opponent with the opportunity to make a play during the time remaining in the contest, by throwing what was clearly an Illegal pass.

The could have (perhaps should have) elected to take the snap and choose to elude the opponent, on the field of play, until time legitimately expired. Sometimes the "easy answer" can surprise with unanticipated consequences.

OKREF Tue Sep 13, 2016 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990794)
Robert, it was intended to DEPRIVE the opponent with the opportunity to make a play during the time remaining in the contest, by throwing what was clearly an Illegal pass.

The could have (perhaps should have) elected to take the snap and choose to elude the opponent, on the field of play, until time legitimately expired. Sometimes the "easy answer" can surprise with unanticipated consequences.

It wasn't an illegal pass. That is irrelevant, it doesn't even matter if it is intentional grounding, the crew still erred and misapplyed a penalty.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990794)
Robert, it was intended to DEPRIVE the opponent with the opportunity to make a play during the time remaining in the contest, by throwing what was clearly an Illegal pass.

What made the pass illegal?
Quote:

The could have (perhaps should have) elected to take the snap and choose to elude the opponent, on the field of play, until time legitimately expired.
Or they could've done the same pass backwards, to exactly the same effect, and then nobody would've even raised illegal forward pass as a possibility.

JRutledge Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:56pm

For the record, the U on this game came to our meeting tonight and talked about the situation. I know I learned from his speaking on the matter.

For the record, the crew did not know they made the mistake until they were in the locker room for about 5 minutes. The guy that does the media timeouts apparently relayed to them that Mike Pereira was going off about this in the broadcast and quoting the rule. Then the crew started looking it up in the rulebook for themselves to read what he was referencing.

The bottom line the crew feels awful and this official wanted to make sure we all learned from their mistake. So now this is why you have to be able to step up and take the lead or raise the questions so that the crew does not look bad. One of the 10 might have saved this crew if they just stopped for a second to think about what they were going to do.

Peace

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:26am

Quote:

What made the pass illegal?
In the NCAA rules, intentional grounding IS an illegal forward pass, so the fact that a grounding foul was called made it illegal.

There are different enforcement procedures for different kinds of illegal forward passes, but 7-3-2 talks about illegal forward passes and the intentional grounding rule is in that section.

Robert Goodman Wed Sep 14, 2016 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 990805)
In the NCAA rules, intentional grounding IS an illegal forward pass, so the fact that a grounding foul was called made it illegal.

But it didn't satisfy the requirements to call it intentional grounding.

CT1 Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 990799)
For the record, the U on this game came to our meeting tonight and talked about the situation. I know I learned from his speaking on the matter.

For the record, the crew did not know they made the mistake until they were in the locker room for about 5 minutes. The guy that does the media timeouts apparently relayed to them that Mike Pereira was going off about this in the broadcast and quoting the rule. Then the crew started looking it up in the rulebook for themselves to read what he was referencing.

The bottom line the crew feels awful and this official wanted to make sure we all learned from their mistake. So now this is why you have to be able to step up and take the lead or raise the questions so that the crew does not look bad. One of the 10 might have saved this crew if they just stopped for a second to think about what they were going to do.

Thanks for relaying this, Jeff. It's still hard for me to believe that a crew of D-I officials could get this wrong. If it could happen to them, it could certainly happen to my crew on a Friday night.

Big2Cat Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 990632)
Will heads roll


Yes

Big2Cat Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 990640)
I'm wondering how the MAC is officiating a Big 12 home game? Doesn't the home conference cover the contest?

Often when a team plays on the road out of conference, their league officials come with. The replay was big 12.

Big2Cat Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 990642)
There is no across the board policy. Often the visiting team brings in a crew, but some crews like the Pac-12 do not allow any other crews to come on their fields (at least that has been their policy for some time). Usually the teams not in the Power 5 are allowed to bring their crews in a visiting game. Now that being said, the MAC is apart of the consortium that involves the BIG and the Missouri Valley.

I am sure this entire situation will be talked about at our meeting on Tuesday. I am just wondering are any of the officials on this game from my area?

Peace

As you now know, yes.

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:43pm

Quote:

But it didn't satisfy the requirements to call it intentional grounding.
Maybe not, but I thought you were making a distinction between an illegal forward pass and intentional grounding. IG is a form of an illegal forward pass. Many don't know this, especially as it relates to using this rule instead of an illegal touching foul -- when there is no eligible receiver in the area and the QB throws it to a guard or tackle. If the QB is still in the pocket or the pass doesn't cross the line, the correct call is illegal forward pass rather than illegal touching.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1