The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   OSU-Central Michigan finish (https://forum.officiating.com/football/101623-osu-central-michigan-finish.html)

BoomerSooner Sat Sep 10, 2016 03:46pm

OSU-Central Michigan finish
 
Was listening on the radio, so I may not have all the specifics 100% accurate, but the pertinent info is good. With 8 seconds left on the game clock in the 4th quarter, facing 4th down with a 3 point lead, OSU decided to try run out the clock by having the QB take the snap and throw the pass high and way out of bounds to allow the clock to run out. The problem was that the QB was still in the pocket and there was no receiver even close to the area. The clock did expire during the pass, but intentional grounding was called and Central Michigan was given an untimed down due to the penalty.

I'm pretty sure the enforcement was correct but I can't find the rules support. Any help?

Rich Sat Sep 10, 2016 03:54pm

It was incorrect. Loss of down foul means no untimed down. Conference has already acknowledged the error.

youngump Sat Sep 10, 2016 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoomerSooner (Post 990628)
Was listening on the radio, so I may not have all the specifics 100% accurate, but the pertinent info is good. With 8 seconds left on the game clock in the 4th quarter, facing 4th down with a 3 point lead, OSU decided to try run out the clock by having the QB take the snap and throw the pass high and way out of bounds to allow the clock to run out. The problem was that the QB was still in the pocket and there was no receiver even close to the area. The clock did expire during the pass, but intentional grounding was called and Central Michigan was given an untimed down due to the penalty.

I'm pretty sure the enforcement was correct but I can't find the rules support. Any help?

There were only 4 seconds left when the last down was snapped.

big jake Sat Sep 10, 2016 04:29pm

Will heads roll

DadofTwins Sat Sep 10, 2016 04:34pm

Soccer guy chiming in with a probably-dumb question:

The rule says there is an untimed down unless the foul is on the "team in possession." Since it was 4th down, the play ended with a change of possession. Does the phrase "team in possession" refer to the team possessing the ball at the end of the play (as in, the defense intercepts the pass and the returner gets tackled by the face mask on his way to the end zone) or does it only refer to who is in possession at the snap?

Or, am I misunderstanding something about when and how possession changes after 4th down?

Thanks.

JamesBCrazy Sat Sep 10, 2016 05:33pm

Possession at the time of the foul.

Texas Aggie Sat Sep 10, 2016 08:08pm

I know why the officials missed it: since the foul was on OkSU, it was 4th down, and the time ran out, there wasn't really a penalty for the foul. Which is odd and probably threw off their thinking. I can't prove that I wouldn't have missed that as well.

They clearly missed this, but I'm wondering: shouldn't the rule be revised? Had this been called correctly, OkSU would have gained a huge advantage -- foul on the last play for which there was no penalty. So go ahead and commit a foul as long as it includes a LOD provision. I would suggest a rules change that says the untimed down will take place if the accepted penalty results in a change of possession.

SCalScoreKeeper Sat Sep 10, 2016 09:06pm

I'm wondering how the MAC is officiating a Big 12 home game? Doesn't the home conference cover the contest?

The Roamin' Umpire Sat Sep 10, 2016 09:27pm

So, to my knowledge, no conference has ever done this, and I'm not sure that even here it would be a good idea, but...

The outcome of the game was demonstrably changed by a misapplication of a rule. There is no question about what would have happened if it had been called correctly. If ever there was a time for a conference to overturn a game result, this would be it.

Any chance this happens?

JRutledge Sat Sep 10, 2016 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 990640)
I'm wondering how the MAC is officiating a Big 12 home game? Doesn't the home conference cover the contest?

There is no across the board policy. Often the visiting team brings in a crew, but some crews like the Pac-12 do not allow any other crews to come on their fields (at least that has been their policy for some time). Usually the teams not in the Power 5 are allowed to bring their crews in a visiting game. Now that being said, the MAC is apart of the consortium that involves the BIG and the Missouri Valley.

I am sure this entire situation will be talked about at our meeting on Tuesday. I am just wondering are any of the officials on this game from my area?

Peace

Texas Aggie Sat Sep 10, 2016 11:09pm

Quote:

how the MAC is officiating a Big 12 home game
Non conference games are covered by the contract between schools. Sometimes, the visiting team's conference covers them, sometimes the home team's and other times they get them from a third conference. A Big 12 crew worked Houston vs. OU and a Pac 12 crew worked UCLA vs. A&M last week -- both road teams' conferences were at the game. Houston and College Station are an hour and a half apart and the crews should have just switched games.

I think the NCAA should require the third conference option.

JugglingReferee Sun Sep 11, 2016 03:08am

Side guy got in the way of the deep guy. Mechanics flub as well as a rules flub.

Having said that, the offense deliberately commited a foul and benefitted from it in the most perfect way - winning the game. Logic dictates that the non-offending team should be given something, and if that something is one untimed down where they win on a Hail Mary/lateral, then so be it.

JugglingReferee Sun Sep 11, 2016 03:10am

Video : https://streamable.com/z8gs

Twitter : https://www.twitter.com/MikePereira/...96457353895936

CT1 Sun Sep 11, 2016 08:17am

Was this even IG? Wasn't done to conserve time or avoid loss of yardage.

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 990637)
I know why the officials missed it: since the foul was on OkSU, it was 4th down, and the time ran out, there wasn't really a penalty for the foul. Which is odd and probably threw off their thinking. I can't prove that I wouldn't have missed that as well.

They clearly missed this, but I'm wondering: shouldn't the rule be revised? Had this been called correctly, OkSU would have gained a huge advantage -- foul on the last play for which there was no penalty. So go ahead and commit a foul as long as it includes a LOD provision. I would suggest a rules change that says the untimed down will take place if the accepted penalty results in a change of possession.

Doesn't that seem disproportionate to you?

What does making a pass incomplete do? It can prevent loss of yardage, or it can stop loss of time. What is an untimed down for the other team supposed to be in compensation for?

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 990650)
Was this even IG? Wasn't done to conserve time or avoid loss of yardage.

True. A backward pass to the sideline would've accomplished the same result, and then IG wouldn't've even been considered.

JugglingReferee Sun Sep 11, 2016 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 990650)
Was this even IG? Wasn't done to conserve time or avoid loss of yardage.

OL let DL by, and two of them were right on the QB. Had to throw or risk being sacked. A sack by definition is a loss of yards.

OKREF Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 990650)
Was this even IG? Wasn't done to conserve time or avoid loss of yardage.

Still in pocket, no receiver in area. Had he rolled out about 5 feet he would have been fine.

JugglingReferee Sun Sep 11, 2016 01:26pm

I'd love to know if one of the officials suggested there isn't an untimed down, and that the game is therefore over, yet was "over-ruled" by a majority or convincing comrade.

At least they all know the rule now. As does the whole country. :)

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 990656)
OL let DL by, and two of them were right on the QB. Had to throw or risk being sacked. A sack by definition is a loss of yards.

But look at 7-3-2. The relevant provisions are all "The passer to conserve time..." and "The passer to conserve yardage..." What's material to this case is not whether a loss of yardage would've occurred, but what the passer's motiv'n was. The ball was not thrown to conserve either time or field position, but to consume time. So I don't see intentional grounding.

Suppose it were an opposite kind of situation. Time for the half expires during the down before A1 throws an intentionally incomplete forward pass under conditions where it looks like team A would've liked another down. It would not in fact have conserved time, but the passer's purpose was to conserve time, so it's intentional grounding. I doubt anyone would care about the enforcement, because the period ends anyway, but that's what's meant by those "The passer to..." phrases: to outlaw certain passes on the basis of the passer's purpose, not the result.

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 990660)
Still in pocket, no receiver in area.

Those conditions are necessary but not sufficient to call intentional grounding. It still has to be done to conserve time or the spot, and this was for neither.

Rich Sun Sep 11, 2016 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990664)
Those conditions are necessary but not sufficient to call intentional grounding. It still has to be done to conserve time or the spot, and this was for neither.



Supposed to read minds or ask the QB? The throw conserved yards. That's all I, as a WH, care about. Grounding.

scrounge Sun Sep 11, 2016 02:48pm

On field ACC crew and Big 12 replay crew suspended 2 games

JugglingReferee Sun Sep 11, 2016 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990663)
But look at 7-3-2. The relevant provisions are all "The passer to conserve time..." and "The passer to conserve yardage..." What's material to this case is not whether a loss of yardage would've occurred, but what the passer's motiv'n was. The ball was not thrown to conserve either time or field position, but to consume time. So I don't see intentional grounding.

Suppose it were an opposite kind of situation. Time for the half expires during the down before A1 throws an intentionally incomplete forward pass under conditions where it looks like team A would've liked another down. It would not in fact have conserved time, but the passer's purpose was to conserve time, so it's intentional grounding. I doubt anyone would care about the enforcement, because the period ends anyway, but that's what's meant by those "The passer to..." phrases: to outlaw certain passes on the basis of the passer's purpose, not the result.

His motivation was to avoid being sacked. That he threw it high, far, and to an area with no receiver is an additional aspect to the play that doesn't remove the fact that two defenders would have easily tackled him without the throw.

Avoiding the sack conserves yardage (item h): the incomplete pass means that B would take over further from A's EZ than if he was sacked.

SC Official Sun Sep 11, 2016 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 990666)
On field ACC crew and Big 12 replay crew suspended 2 games

MAC, not ACC

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 990665)
Supposed to read minds or ask the QB?

That's what intentional grounding's always been about.
Quote:

The throw conserved yards. That's all I, as a WH, care about. Grounding.
It shouldn't be all you care about, because there are plenty of incomplete passes that conserve yards but that you'd never call intentional grounding because they weren't intended to conserve yards. For instance, the passer & receiver get crossed up as to the route, so the ball winds up going nowhere near a receiver. You'd call intentional grounding only if it looked like the passer's purpose in throwing it was to avoid a loss or to stop the clock. That was manifestly not the case here. The player throwing the pass cared nothing about where the ball would be spotted for the next down, and did not care to leave any time on the period clock.

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 990667)
His motivation was to avoid being sacked. That he threw it high, far, and to an area with no receiver is an additional aspect to the play that doesn't remove the fact that two defenders would have easily tackled him without the throw.

Avoiding the sack conserves yardage (item h): the incomplete pass means that B would take over further from A's EZ than if he was sacked.

But throwing the ball to avoid being tackled is immaterial unless it's to (the word used in the book) conserve time or get a more favorable spot. The word "to" requires purpose. The player did not care where the next spot would be. He didn't want to leave time on the game clock, either. So the conditions for IG don't apply.

This is a tactic which is not against the rules: throwing the ball high (in any direction), not trying for a completed pass, to consume time.

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 11, 2016 04:34pm

Try this: A1 on 4th & 20 runs 10 yards past his LOS, then throws the ball forward, high, and far out of bounds to use up an extra 2 seconds to end either half. It's still an illegal forward pass. Still loss of down. Does the player care where the next spot is going to be? No. So why would you penalize for IG if he were behind the LOS and threw a forward pass for the same purpose? He still doesn't care what the next spot was going to be.

How about if he throws it nearly directly sideways? Are you going to take pains to figure out whether it was a forward or backward pass, so you can see whether you could call IG?

This is not a situation for which the IG provisions were adopted.

ajmc Mon Sep 12, 2016 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990670)
This is a tactic which is not against the rules: throwing the ball high (in any direction), not trying for a completed pass, to consume time.

Robert, you're trying to float a LEAD canoe. The IG call by the crew was a technically correct call, unfortunately a really GLARING mistake was made on the enforcement.

Occasional mistakes are something each and everyone of has made, somewhat repeatedly, but thankfully not as highlighted as this one. The crew was wrong, is accountable, will suffer some consequences and hopefully get past the embarrassment and second guessing before their next on field assignment, and God willing, "the beat will go on".

BoomerSooner Mon Sep 12, 2016 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 990662)
I'd love to know if one of the officials suggested there isn't an untimed down, and that the game is therefore over, yet was "over-ruled" by a majority or convincing comrade.

At least they all know the rule now. As does the whole country. :)

This is what happened to me and why my initial post sided with how it was handled on the field. I assumed that guys at that level had to be right. As I posted in another thread, my gut reaction was that it wasn't right and I said as much to my son. He questioned me because he knows I usually reserve those kind of statements until I know with certainty that a mistake was made. By the time I posted the OP in this thread, I had convinced myself I was wrong and that I must be missing something in the NCAA rules.

Welpe Mon Sep 12, 2016 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DadofTwins (Post 990633)

The rule says there is an untimed down unless the foul is on the "team in possession."

That's not the NCAA (or NFHS) rule. If there is an accepted live ball foul (or offsetting fouls) by either team and it does not specify a loss of down, then an untimed down will be played.

Robert Goodman Mon Sep 12, 2016 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990722)
Robert, you're trying to float a LEAD canoe. The IG call by the crew was a technically correct call,

No, it's not. CT1 got it right. IG can occur only when a passer tries to prevent a loss of field position (between being down there and the previous spot) or of time in the period. You can throw the ball to a space with no receivers if you're not doing so intentionally for either purpose -- I gave the example above of a cross-up regarding the receiver's route. I've seen plenty of passes like that that were correctly not flagged for that reason. If this weren't the case, those "to conserve" provisions wouldn't've been written into paras. f-h.

umpjim Mon Sep 12, 2016 08:30pm

Baseball guy. Question: Can a football coach lodge a protest of a rule missaplication after a play?

bwburke94 Mon Sep 12, 2016 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 990753)
Baseball guy. Question: Can a football coach lodge a protest of a rule missaplication after a play?

Result of the game is final.

Rich Mon Sep 12, 2016 09:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990737)
No, it's not. CT1 got it right. IG can occur only when a passer tries to prevent a loss of field position (between being down there and the previous spot) or of time in the period. You can throw the ball to a space with no receivers if you're not doing so intentionally for either purpose -- I gave the example above of a cross-up regarding the receiver's route. I've seen plenty of passes like that that were correctly not flagged for that reason. If this weren't the case, those "to conserve" provisions wouldn't've been written into paras. f-h.



Letter of the rule vs spirit. It's grounding by the spirit. I'd flag this every time.

umpjim Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwburke94 (Post 990756)
Result of the game is final.


I know that. The question is whether at the end of the play where IG was called can the coach go to the official and protest that the untimed down is not correct?

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 06:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 990757)
Letter of the rule vs spirit. It's grounding by the spirit. I'd flag this every time.

No, it's completely against the spirit of IG. The IG provisions were there just to keep teams from taking unfair advantage of the rules on incomplete forward passes that give you back the previous spot & stop the clock. This is a play that would've worked just as well had it been a backward pass.

Maybe what there should be is a rule specifically to keep a team from using up a few extra secs. by throwing the ball high in the air and/or far out of bounds, but there isn't any right now.

CT1 Tue Sep 13, 2016 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 990764)
I know that. The question is whether at the end of the play where IG was called can the coach go to the official and protest that the untimed down is not correct?

Yes, he can -- IF he realizes that the officials are in error. (Even if a coach doesn't ask for a conference, replay should have caught such an egregious error.)

In this case, OKSt Coach Mike Gundy admitted in his post-game press conference that he didn't know the rule. Maybe if they paid him a little more......

JRutledge Tue Sep 13, 2016 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 990764)
I know that. The question is whether at the end of the play where IG was called can the coach go to the official and protest that the untimed down is not correct?

No, it is not baseball and they go back and replay that portion of the game. That would be the same with most sports that I am aware of.

Peace

BoomerSooner Tue Sep 13, 2016 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990771)
Maybe what there should be is a rule specifically to keep a team from using up a few extra secs. by throwing the ball high in the air and/or far out of bounds, but there isn't any right now.

I thought about this, but the only down where this would ever be an issue is 4th down as it was in this game. I think adding a rule to somehow make what OSU did a penalty that would include an untimed down is unnecessary because there are other methods of burning 4 seconds from the clock on 4th down. Unless the offense is taking the snap inside the 5 yard line, a QB can usually run around for 4 seconds and just slide down. With a 3 point lead, the OSU QB could have ran the 40 yard dash through the back of the end zone and taken a safety. I'm confident he's not running a sub-4 second 40, and I think between the head start he would have had and even minimal blocking, he would have won that race.

Altor Tue Sep 13, 2016 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 990753)
Baseball guy. Question: Can a football coach lodge a protest of a rule missaplication after a play?

A player, substitute or the head coach my request a conference between the head coach and the referee if the coach believes a rule has been enforced improperly. This request must occur before the next play begins (snap or free kick) and before the end of the half. If the ruling is not changed, the team is charged a time out or a delay penalty if no timeouts remain.

So, no, it's not a protest like baseball would handle it. But, there is a method for the coach to ask if he believes the officials are making a rules error.

ajmc Tue Sep 13, 2016 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990737)
No, it's not. CT1 got it right. IG can occur only when a passer tries to prevent a loss of field position (between being down there and the previous spot) or of time in the period. You can throw the ball to a space with no receivers if you're not doing so intentionally for either purpose -- I gave the example above of a cross-up regarding the receiver's route. I've seen plenty of passes like that that were correctly not flagged for that reason. If this weren't the case, those "to conserve" provisions wouldn't've been written into paras. f-h.

Forgive me, but what part of NFHS 7-5-2-e "An illegal forward pass is a foul. Illegal forward passes include:
a
b
c
d
e. A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time."

does NOT apply specifically to the action described in this situation? The key differential between this play and your example seems to be intent, as determined by the covering official (duly empowered to render such judgments).

OKREF Tue Sep 13, 2016 09:51am

Well, to be fair, they weren't trying to conserve time(they wanted time to elapse), Were they really trying to save yardage? Not really, the intent of the pass was to run out the clock. I believe the only reason this was called was he was still in the pocket, and no receiver in area of pass. Now by the letter of the law, those are factors in IG, however, I'm not 100% sure I would have called IG on this play, but can certainly understand why it was. The real error was the misapplication of the penalty allowing an untimed down.

youngump Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 990783)
Well, to be fair, they weren't trying to conserve time(they wanted time to elapse), Were they really trying to save yardage? Not really, the intent of the pass was to run out the clock. I believe the only reason this was called was he was still in the pocket, and no receiver in area of pass. Now by the letter of the law, those are factors in IG, however, I'm not 100% sure I would have called IG on this play, but can certainly understand why it was. The real error was the misapplication of the penalty allowing an untimed down.

Depends on your definition of conserve time. They wanted to keep more of the game time for themselves instead of sharing it with the other team :-)

OKREF Tue Sep 13, 2016 11:00am

I would interpret conserve time as save time. They didn't want to save game time, they wanted it to run out.

If you want to conserve energy are you wanting to use up the small amount that you have or do want to save as much as you can?

JRutledge Tue Sep 13, 2016 11:26am

Here is the play and the ending embedded.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/0SjFnVN8sXk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/x4hwVBefy_I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

scrounge Tue Sep 13, 2016 12:13pm

yea, it wasn't to conserve time, quite the opposite...but it WAS to conserve yardage in a sense; that is, not getting sacked and giving the other team any yardage. I'm perfectly fine with the call, but the enforcement? Oy.

But it made choosing a topic for our pre-game this week pretty easy!

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990779)
Forgive me, but what part of NFHS 7-5-2-e "An illegal forward pass is a foul. Illegal forward passes include:
a
b
c
d
e. A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time."

does NOT apply specifically to the action described in this situation?

None of them do.
Quote:

The key differential between this play and your example seems to be intent, as determined by the covering official (duly empowered to render such judgments).
Exactly, that's what I'm saying. It was not intended to save yardage or time.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 990788)
yea, it wasn't to conserve time, quite the opposite...but it WAS to conserve yardage in a sense; that is, not getting sacked and giving the other team any yardage.

No, it wasn't to conserve yardage. They'd've been happy to concede the yardage had time already elapsed. What not getting sacked did was keep the ball live for a few more secs.

ajmc Tue Sep 13, 2016 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 990790)
None of them do.

Exactly, that's what I'm saying. It was not intended to save yardage or time.

Robert, it was intended to DEPRIVE the opponent with the opportunity to make a play during the time remaining in the contest, by throwing what was clearly an Illegal pass.

The could have (perhaps should have) elected to take the snap and choose to elude the opponent, on the field of play, until time legitimately expired. Sometimes the "easy answer" can surprise with unanticipated consequences.

OKREF Tue Sep 13, 2016 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990794)
Robert, it was intended to DEPRIVE the opponent with the opportunity to make a play during the time remaining in the contest, by throwing what was clearly an Illegal pass.

The could have (perhaps should have) elected to take the snap and choose to elude the opponent, on the field of play, until time legitimately expired. Sometimes the "easy answer" can surprise with unanticipated consequences.

It wasn't an illegal pass. That is irrelevant, it doesn't even matter if it is intentional grounding, the crew still erred and misapplyed a penalty.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 990794)
Robert, it was intended to DEPRIVE the opponent with the opportunity to make a play during the time remaining in the contest, by throwing what was clearly an Illegal pass.

What made the pass illegal?
Quote:

The could have (perhaps should have) elected to take the snap and choose to elude the opponent, on the field of play, until time legitimately expired.
Or they could've done the same pass backwards, to exactly the same effect, and then nobody would've even raised illegal forward pass as a possibility.

JRutledge Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:56pm

For the record, the U on this game came to our meeting tonight and talked about the situation. I know I learned from his speaking on the matter.

For the record, the crew did not know they made the mistake until they were in the locker room for about 5 minutes. The guy that does the media timeouts apparently relayed to them that Mike Pereira was going off about this in the broadcast and quoting the rule. Then the crew started looking it up in the rulebook for themselves to read what he was referencing.

The bottom line the crew feels awful and this official wanted to make sure we all learned from their mistake. So now this is why you have to be able to step up and take the lead or raise the questions so that the crew does not look bad. One of the 10 might have saved this crew if they just stopped for a second to think about what they were going to do.

Peace

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:26am

Quote:

What made the pass illegal?
In the NCAA rules, intentional grounding IS an illegal forward pass, so the fact that a grounding foul was called made it illegal.

There are different enforcement procedures for different kinds of illegal forward passes, but 7-3-2 talks about illegal forward passes and the intentional grounding rule is in that section.

Robert Goodman Wed Sep 14, 2016 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 990805)
In the NCAA rules, intentional grounding IS an illegal forward pass, so the fact that a grounding foul was called made it illegal.

But it didn't satisfy the requirements to call it intentional grounding.

CT1 Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 990799)
For the record, the U on this game came to our meeting tonight and talked about the situation. I know I learned from his speaking on the matter.

For the record, the crew did not know they made the mistake until they were in the locker room for about 5 minutes. The guy that does the media timeouts apparently relayed to them that Mike Pereira was going off about this in the broadcast and quoting the rule. Then the crew started looking it up in the rulebook for themselves to read what he was referencing.

The bottom line the crew feels awful and this official wanted to make sure we all learned from their mistake. So now this is why you have to be able to step up and take the lead or raise the questions so that the crew does not look bad. One of the 10 might have saved this crew if they just stopped for a second to think about what they were going to do.

Thanks for relaying this, Jeff. It's still hard for me to believe that a crew of D-I officials could get this wrong. If it could happen to them, it could certainly happen to my crew on a Friday night.

Big2Cat Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 990632)
Will heads roll


Yes

Big2Cat Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 990640)
I'm wondering how the MAC is officiating a Big 12 home game? Doesn't the home conference cover the contest?

Often when a team plays on the road out of conference, their league officials come with. The replay was big 12.

Big2Cat Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 990642)
There is no across the board policy. Often the visiting team brings in a crew, but some crews like the Pac-12 do not allow any other crews to come on their fields (at least that has been their policy for some time). Usually the teams not in the Power 5 are allowed to bring their crews in a visiting game. Now that being said, the MAC is apart of the consortium that involves the BIG and the Missouri Valley.

I am sure this entire situation will be talked about at our meeting on Tuesday. I am just wondering are any of the officials on this game from my area?

Peace

As you now know, yes.

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:43pm

Quote:

But it didn't satisfy the requirements to call it intentional grounding.
Maybe not, but I thought you were making a distinction between an illegal forward pass and intentional grounding. IG is a form of an illegal forward pass. Many don't know this, especially as it relates to using this rule instead of an illegal touching foul -- when there is no eligible receiver in the area and the QB throws it to a guard or tackle. If the QB is still in the pocket or the pass doesn't cross the line, the correct call is illegal forward pass rather than illegal touching.

Robert Goodman Thu Sep 15, 2016 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 990834)
Maybe not, but I thought you were making a distinction between an illegal forward pass and intentional grounding. IG is a form of an illegal forward pass. Many don't know this, especially as it relates to using this rule instead of an illegal touching foul -- when there is no eligible receiver in the area and the QB throws it to a guard or tackle. If the QB is still in the pocket or the pass doesn't cross the line, the correct call is illegal forward pass rather than illegal touching.

That just came up a week ago or so in a discussion of Fed rules, which are substantially the same on this point.

golfnref Thu Sep 15, 2016 03:53pm

According to the MAC website all 10 officials received a 2 game suspension.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1