![]() |
|
|
|||
Side Snap Still Legal?
This week playing 8-man Jr.High Flag football, we were had with the "Wrong Ball" trick play. Center side snaps to the QB and yadda yadda TD.
Is the side snap legal (center stands up and hands the ball sideways to the QB)? I remember seeing this play in HS football a few years ago on youtube, but, I can't really get a clear interpretation of Legal vs. Illegal snap from the 2015 NFHS rule book. Thanks! |
|
|||
Handing the ball sideways to the QB is legal. As far as the overall action, you'd have to see it, although I can describe what you'd be looking for. Once the ball starts moving, does it keep moving backwards until he's rid of it? Its up or down component of movement is immaterial. Is the movement of the ball quick & continuous?
|
|
|||
Side snaps, in and of themselves, are legal as long as they comply with the requirements in 2-40-2.
However, the "wrong ball" play is illegal. Quote:
|
|
|||
I think it could. The snapper on standing up would have to have the ball in 1 or both hands. If he were pulling back, that would be a backward motion of the ball. Then all the snapper has to do is keep it moving backward by turning or by continuing the motion by other means. For instance, the snapper could pull the ball back & up like a passer doing a pass set & raising the ball to his shoulder, at which point the quarterback could take the ball from him, or the snapper could just throw it backward over his shoulder. Or the snapper could raise the ball overhead for it to be snatched as in the Statue of Liberty play. No end to the possibilities. But it has to be done quickly, not in slow motion.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Here is what constitutes a legal snap:
ART. 2 . . . The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than in adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman. In picking up a ball and turning to hand it to the quarterback, the ball is moving backward continuously but it is not immediately leaving the snapper's hands.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The difference is that picking it up, turning around and handing it back to the quarterback is not considered immediate. You want it to be but it's not and I've never heard a rule interpreter say that it is.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
You're reading it as "picking it up...pause...turning around...pause...and handing it". Why couldn't the action be done in 1 motion?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
I've gone over to the other side - almost | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:17pm |
Legal Snap? | bigjohn | Football | 51 | Mon Nov 07, 2011 03:08pm |
legal or snap infraction?? | MJT | Football | 5 | Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:03am |
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? | ChickenOfNC | Football | 18 | Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm |
Legal snap | watsonhb | Football | 3 | Wed Nov 01, 2000 11:59pm |