The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 21, 2015, 08:03am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
"When a team may designate the spot along the proper yard line
from which the ball is to be put in play, it shall have the same privilege if the down is to be replayed or a dead-ball foul occurs."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 21, 2015, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
You see here is what happened. Up until 2 years ago I believed and had enforced it that way. Then at a clinic this play occurred and I did what I always did, they can choose the location for the snap. The lead clinician for R's who is a very respected official, told me that was incorrect, that if the foul was by B or was offsetting or someother replay then yes, but that if A fouled it locked the re-try to the spot of the foul or end of the run.

Then a year later a different clinician at the same clinic said almost the same thing in a classroom discussion.

Hadn't had this play come up since that clinic 2 years ago until Friday night. Team went for 2, scored, foul, replay, opted to kick, discussion about whether they could re-spot the ball, I went with clinic experience, and said, no, the foul locked it in. Kick was just enough off that the re-spot would have made it successful. Thankfully team A ended up winning the game, but I went back and I feel like the book tells me one thing but some high-priced and high-prized clinicians are telling me differently.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 21, 2015, 01:48pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Your play is EXACTLY why the re-spot is allowed. Team A has already screwed themselves by fouling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2015, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
"When a team may designate the spot along the proper yard line
from which the ball is to be put in play, it shall have the same privilege if the down is to be replayed or a dead-ball foul occurs."
Thanks, and seeing the example in the succeeding comments explains the logic quite nicely.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul In the Post: One Continuous Action or Technical Foul? APG Basketball 10 Sat Feb 02, 2013 08:24pm
Common Shooting Foul Followed by a Technical Foul tophat67 Basketball 9 Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57am
Foul where distance gained prior to foul wwcfoa43 Football 15 Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:04pm
Can you just call a team foul if you are not sure who the foul is on? Diebler biggravy Basketball 18 Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:20pm
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1