The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2015, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
We do tend to re-hash this on a regular basis.

The factor that the ball still has A-team frontcourt status, after B's deflection, while it is in the air, followed by A1 touching it, while A1 is in the A-team backcourt, can follow two divergent logic strains:

The first is that A1's touching simultaneously equates to A1 being the last to touch the ball while it has frontcourt status, and first to touch it in the backcourt, thus causing a team A backcourt violation. The companion statement is that if A1 allows the ball to touch the court, or a B player, in the backcourt, before A1 touches the ball, there is no violation.

The second logic strain is that B1 is the last to touch the ball while it has A-team frontcourt status, thus interrupting the elements that would cause a backcourt violation.

Both logic paths have their supporters, the first being the NF stated understanding, which is not presently in the Case Book.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2015, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
....can follow two divergent logic strains:

The first is that A1's touching simultaneously equates to A1 being the last to touch the ball while it has frontcourt status, and first to touch it in the backcourt, thus causing a team A backcourt violation. The companion statement is that if A1 allows the ball to touch the court, or a B player, in the backcourt, before A1 touches the ball, there is no violation.

The second logic strain is that B1 is the last to touch the ball while it has A-team frontcourt status, thus interrupting the elements that would cause a backcourt violation.

Both logic paths have their supporters, the first being the NF stated understanding, which is not presently in the Case Book.
The problem with the NF stated understanding is that it is fundamentally impossible for a single event (the final touch) to be both BEFORE and AFTER (the terms of the rule) a reference point (the ball gaining backcourt status). The NF interpretation pure horseshit and can't be defended with a straight face after reading the rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jun 03, 2015 at 05:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 11:44am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
So what's the answer? My initial thought is that this isn't a violation, because Team B was the last to touch it in the frontcourt, and the ball hasn't touched the floor in the backcourt. When Team A touches the ball in the backcourt, does the ball simultaneously have backcourt and frontcourt status?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 01:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
So what's the answer? My initial thought is that this isn't a violation, because Team B was the last to touch it in the frontcourt, and the ball hasn't touched the floor in the backcourt. When Team A touches the ball in the backcourt, does the ball simultaneously have backcourt and frontcourt status?
By rule, not a violation.

By old interp that most people aren't aware of, it's a violation. The ruling in that interp was flawed, in that they said it was a violation because A "caused the ball to have BC status." Causing the ball to have BC status is never a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 02:16pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
By rule, not a violation.

By old interp that most people aren't aware of, it's a violation. The ruling in that interp was flawed, in that they said it was a violation because A "caused the ball to have BC status." Causing the ball to have BC status is never a violation.
Ok, that's what I thought. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt? Terrapins Fan Basketball 33 Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:50pm
Backcourt or No? BballTip Basketball 24 Fri Dec 04, 2009 03:20pm
Backcourt or not Backcourt?? easygoer Basketball 6 Fri Mar 05, 2004 04:06pm
Backcourt eyezen Basketball 8 Wed Mar 03, 2004 01:08am
AZ v. Ore backcourt from C Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Feb 23, 2004 06:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1