![]() |
|
|
|||
Where is the spot?
NFHS rules. Side OB. The inbounder throws it high and wildly across the court to no one. It bounces once inbounds and before it lands out-of-bounds, his teammate steps on the sideline and taps it in an effort to to save it. The whistle is sounded for out-of-bounds. The other team's ball at what spot? The officials ruled back at the original spot because the player touched the line before touching the ball. Is this correct? Thanks.
|
|
|||
The throw-in spot should have been where A2 touched the ball since that was the closest spot to where the violation - ball contacting a player OOB - took place.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Ignorance, Or Historical Myth ???
Quote:
Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Is this worth a trip up to your attic library?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jun 03, 2015 at 06:17am. |
|
|||
Where would it be when a violation takes place while the ball is in the air?
Ex. Ball in backcourt (BC) of Team A, officials count (NFHS) is at 9, A1 with ball deep in BC, throws a 70-foot pass from BC towards frontcourt (FC). Official's count reaches 10 while ball is in air 50 feet from where A1 threw it. Where would spot of inbound be? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Billy and Bob (sounds like a redneck morning drive time radio team, ![]() I am not going to climb up into the attic but, I remember what Bob says is true about a Casebook Play during everybody's favorite, ![]() But I also want to say that the Casebook Play was the result of (a) a minor rule change that was very quickly repealed, or (b) the Casebook Play, itself, was repealed. Either way, it did not last very long thank goodness, because JetMan's correct response is how it has been done and it had been done in NBCUSC, NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, NAGWS, and FIBA, for as long as I have been officiating and playing as well. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
It tells me "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Also from 2012-2013 NFHS rule book:
Rule 4-42 art. 5: The Throw-in ends when: a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds. b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7. |
|
|||
A few of us remember, way back, when the understanding of such a call was that the violation took place by the thrower - having not thrown the ball "directly into the court."
Now, the violation is understood, as JetMet noted, that the violation occurs when the player attempting to receive the pass, does so while out-of-bounds. Consequently, as noted in the PENALTY for 9-3, the throw-in is qat the spot nearest to where the player touched the passed ball illegally.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Rob: If you read my post, you will see that Jet Man's interpretation has been, with the exception for a few years during the Mary Struckhoff years, the interpretation going back well over fifty years. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
In the NFHS Basketball Handbook, there is a somewhat cryptic reference to a change in 1955 . . . "ball awarded out of bounds nearest to where violation occurs;" and another in 1965 . . . "designated spot for certain throw-ins."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() Last edited by Rob1968; Wed Jun 03, 2015 at 01:17pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Spot and down | Cliffdweller | Football | 3 | Tue Sep 16, 2014 03:59pm |
Bad spot? | kylejt | Baseball | 12 | Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:21pm |
Spot | chayce | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 07, 2009 01:55pm |
Bag the OOB Spot? | ljudge | Football | 15 | Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:10pm |
spot? | jr | Basketball | 1 | Tue Nov 22, 2005 03:02am |