The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where is the spot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99846-where-spot.html)

Coach Bill Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:36pm

Where is the spot?
 
NFHS rules. Side OB. The inbounder throws it high and wildly across the court to no one. It bounces once inbounds and before it lands out-of-bounds, his teammate steps on the sideline and taps it in an effort to to save it. The whistle is sounded for out-of-bounds. The other team's ball at what spot? The officials ruled back at the original spot because the player touched the line before touching the ball. Is this correct? Thanks.

JetMetFan Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:39pm

The throw-in spot should have been where A2 touched the ball since that was the closest spot to where the violation - ball contacting a player OOB - took place.

BillyMac Wed Jun 03, 2015 06:07am

Ignorance, Or Historical Myth ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 963236)
The throw-in spot should have been where A2 touched the ball since that was the closest spot to where the violation - ball contacting a player OOB - took place.

100% correct, but I've observed very competent, very veteran, officials handling this like a throwin that goes untouched out of bounds, and thus, incorrectly put the ball back in play at the original throwin spot. There may have been a rule, or interpretation, from thirty-five years ago, that drives this myth.

Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Is this worth a trip up to your attic library?

luvhoops Wed Jun 03, 2015 08:37am

Where would it be when a violation takes place while the ball is in the air?

Ex. Ball in backcourt (BC) of Team A, officials count (NFHS) is at 9, A1 with ball deep in BC, throws a 70-foot pass from BC towards frontcourt (FC). Official's count reaches 10 while ball is in air 50 feet from where A1 threw it. Where would spot of inbound be?

OKREF Wed Jun 03, 2015 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 963259)
Where would it be when a violation takes place while the ball is in the air?

Ex. Ball in backcourt (BC) of Team A, officials count (NFHS) is at 9, A1 with ball deep in BC, throws a 70-foot pass from BC towards frontcourt (FC). Official's count reaches 10 while ball is in air 50 feet from where A1 threw it. Where would spot of inbound be?

How many times does this violation go uncalled?

bob jenkins Wed Jun 03, 2015 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 963259)
Where would it be when a violation takes place while the ball is in the air?

Ex. Ball in backcourt (BC) of Team A, officials count (NFHS) is at 9, A1 with ball deep in BC, throws a 70-foot pass from BC towards frontcourt (FC). Official's count reaches 10 while ball is in air 50 feet from where A1 threw it. Where would spot of inbound be?

What does the definition of Ball Location tell you?

bob jenkins Wed Jun 03, 2015 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 963245)
100% correct, but I've observed very competent, very veteran, officials handling this like a throwin that goes untouched out of bounds, and thus, incorrectly put the ball back in play at the original throwin spot. There may have been a rule, or interpretation, from thirty-five years ago, that drives this myth.

Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Is this worth a trip up to your attic library?

It was a case play not nearly that long ago.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jun 03, 2015 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 963236)
The throw-in spot should have been where A2 touched the ball since that was the closest spot to where the violation - ball contacting a player OOB - took place.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 963245)
100% correct, but I've observed very competent, very veteran, officials handling this like a throwin that goes untouched out of bounds, and thus, incorrectly put the ball back in play at the original throwin spot. There may have been a rule, or interpretation, from thirty-five years ago, that drives this myth.

Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Is this worth a trip up to your attic library?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 963264)
What does the definition of Ball Location tell you?


Billy and Bob (sounds like a redneck morning drive time radio team, :p):

I am not going to climb up into the attic but, I remember what Bob says is true about a Casebook Play during everybody's favorite, :D, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, Mary Struckhoff, time on the job.

But I also want to say that the Casebook Play was the result of (a) a minor rule change that was very quickly repealed, or (b) the Casebook Play, itself, was repealed. Either way, it did not last very long thank goodness, because JetMan's correct response is how it has been done and it had been done in NBCUSC, NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, NAGWS, and FIBA, for as long as I have been officiating and playing as well.

MTD, Sr.

JetMetFan Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 963235)
NFHS rules. Side OB. The inbounder throws it high and wildly across the court to no one. It bounces once inbounds and before it lands out-of-bounds, his teammate steps on the sideline and taps it in an effort to to save it. The whistle is sounded for out-of-bounds. The other team's ball at what spot? The officials ruled back at the original spot because the player touched the line before touching the ball. Is this correct? Thanks.

By the way, the rule cites are NF 9-3-2 and 9-3-2 Penalty.

luvhoops Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 963264)
What does the definition of Ball Location tell you?

It tells me "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."

luvhoops Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 963274)
By the way, the rule cites are NF 9-3-2 and 9-3-2 Penalty.

Also from 2012-2013 NFHS rule book:

Rule 4-42 art. 5: The Throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7.

Rob1968 Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:38pm

A few of us remember, way back, when the understanding of such a call was that the violation took place by the thrower - having not thrown the ball "directly into the court."
Now, the violation is understood, as JetMet noted, that the violation occurs when the player attempting to receive the pass, does so while out-of-bounds. Consequently, as noted in the PENALTY for 9-3, the throw-in is qat the spot nearest to where the player touched the passed ball illegally.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 963306)
A few of us remember, way back, when the understanding of such a call was that the violation took place by the thrower - having not thrown the ball "directly into the court."
Now, the violation is understood, as JetMet noted, that the violation occurs when the player attempting to receive the pass, does so while out-of-bounds. Consequently, as noted in the PENALTY for 9-3, the throw-in is qat the spot nearest to where the player touched the passed ball illegally.


Rob:

If you read my post, you will see that Jet Man's interpretation has been, with the exception for a few years during the Mary Struckhoff years, the interpretation going back well over fifty years.

MTD, Sr.

Rob1968 Wed Jun 03, 2015 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 963307)
Rob:

If you read my post, you will see that Jet Man's interpretation has been, with the exception for a few years during the Mary Struckhoff years, the interpretation going back well over fifty years.

MTD, Sr.

Thanks, somehow, my old computer didn't show me posts 3 thru 8, (yours), when I replied to the OP. (I was thinking of you when I referred to the few of us that remember the old interp.)
In the NFHS Basketball Handbook, there is a somewhat cryptic reference to a change in 1955 . . . "ball awarded out of bounds nearest to where violation occurs;" and another in 1965 . . . "designated spot for certain throw-ins."

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jun 03, 2015 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 963311)
Thanks, somehow, my old computer didn't show me posts 3 thru 8, (yours), when I replied to the OP. (I was thinking of you when I referred to the few of us that remember the old interp.)


Rob:

With regard to the word "old", I resemble that remark. ;)

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1