![]() |
|
|
|||
Where do they come uo with these...
I am often amusued at the "rules" coaches (and others) try to argue. Had this one yesterday in a tournament.
I call a free throw violation on B1 for crossing the three point arch before the ball hits the rim. Coach tells me its not a violation because he had not passed the free throw line until after the ball hit the rim. In his mind, the playercould leave on release as long as he did not make it past the free throw line extended before the ball hit the rim. Another one of my favorites is the coach who argued with me that her player should get a third free throw because the defense violated even though the player made the free throw. "But that doesn't matter. They had a violation so we get another shot." I also enjoyed the two coaches this weekend who constantly asked me "who did he foul" (duh, the shooter that's why we're shooting free throws now) and "who traveled" as if the answer would be something different than the player who had the ball. The worst part is that these were serious questions and not a coach trying to slyly complain. No wonder they look at us like we are crazy when we blow the whistle. They're rule book is apparently different han ours.
__________________
Its not enough to know the rules and apply them correctly. You must know how to explain it to others! |
|
|||
![]()
About 10 years ago, I was working a MS holiday tournament and about midway through Q4 in a fairly close game, my partner called a flagrant foul on A1. It was his 5th foul. As my partner went over towards the table to report it, Coach B came over and said that since A1's fifth foul was flagrant, not only was he out of the game but he couldn't be replaced and team A would have to finish the game with four players.
My partner was rather new and came over to me for some help. I told him there was no such rule and that Coach B was either joking or he was just plain wrong. My partner went back and asked Coach B if he was joking! Coach B said he wasn't and that he was positive it was the rule. I heard the whole thing and went over to the table. I used one of my favorite lines with the coach and told him that we could look this up. I said I had a rule book in my bag under the scorer's table and that if he was right, I'd give him $5, but if I was right, he had to go out into the parking lot and wash my car. I then put my hand out for a shake. He just stared at me, then turned around and walked away. I have no idea how that coach got that idea into his head. I've never heard anything like it either before or after that game.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
It is not a different rulebook, they just do not know what one looks like.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Had an AAU tournament game today where one team jumped out to a 9-0 lead in the first minute after some turnovers by the losing team. The losing coach yelled at me "is handchecking allowed in this league?" I paused for a second and yelled back "that's a loaded question!"
![]() |
|
|||
Classic coach thought is the "over the back".
C: He's going over the back thats a foul. O: Over the back is not a call. Its only a foul if he's pushing. C: But he's got him boxed out. He can't reach over him. O: He can if there is no contact. O: So whats the point in my kid boxing out. R: Sounds like a coaching decision to me, not my area of expertise.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
During a rebound, A-1 displaces B-2, while B-2 reaches over A-1's back. Wait for it, ball goes to Team A, tweet. Bench A explodes happily, expecting the "over the back" call on B-2, only to be horribly confused when I report A-1's number. A veteran official I respect highly uses this line: "Boxing out is screening, not displacing." Beautifully succinct.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Reach!
Last season, I had one coach who was constantly complaining the about the other team "reaching." I told him "no contact, no foul." Two possessions later, my partner calls it, even reporting it to the bench as a "reach." Arrgghh.
After the game, we talked. Partner says that the defense wasn't playing defense "with their feet." |
|
|||
Quote:
Whenever my partner ref(s) call 'reach', I pull them aside (during time out or half break or post game) and tell them that it is not a foul. Explaining to them that if you're calling "reaching in" when the that action does not affect RSBQ then you have "nothing" and furthermore, we are not calling the game in a consistent manner. In most cases, the partner responds with "that's what I've been calling for years". It will take a season or two for a ref to dis-embed such a staid mis-conception despite being shown the "light". Last edited by Kansas Ref; Tue May 12, 2015 at 11:50am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In my mind, the two are unrelated. RSBQ is about handchecking/pushing types of contact affecting ball handler's ability to move. A defender who "reaches in" and smack the dribbler's arm may not affect any of RSBQ but very well could be and often should be a foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Don't You Dare Say That ...
Quote:
"Reaching in", reported by an official to the table on a foul against a ball handler, is not necessarily a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, is by itself, nothing. If illegal contact does occur, it’s probably a holding foul, an illegal use of hands foul, or a hand check foul, and these should be reported to the table as such.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
I believe this is the NBA rule or close to it. So that is probably where he got that idea. The others? ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|