The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The BC call --- it WAS tipped... and then it was tapped by the offense. Good fix.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 04:24pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The BC call --- it WAS tipped... and then it was tapped by the offense. Good fix.
The defense tipped the ball first. This ends team control under NBA rules...the subsequent tip by the offense means nothing.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 04:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
The defense tipped the ball first. This ends team control under NBA rules...the subsequent tip by the offense means nothing.
Reggie Miller said the call was correct because it was a "controlled tap" by the offense. Is this correct for the NBA?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 04:54pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Reggie Miller said the call was correct because it was a "controlled tap" by the offense. Is this correct for the NBA?
No he wasn't...the play is no different than when a player deliberately bats a rebound from his frontcourt to the backcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 04:58pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
No he wasn't...the play is no different than when a player deliberately bats a rebound from his frontcourt to the backcourt.
So, basically, Joey reached across the court to make an incorrect call in front of his partner then?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 05:09pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
So, basically, Joey reached across the court to make an incorrect call in front of his partner then?
The trail didn't see the deflection by Duncan...he didn't call a backcourt violation because he thought Danny Green (black 14) hit the ball (he signaled as much and was pointing at him). So the slot was correct in giving him information that the defense (at that point) did not touch the ball.

If the trail had seen the deflection by Duncan, he would have either signal a tip earlier...or after the slot comes in to tell him his information, he tells says he had a defensive deflection prior...making everything else moot...resume at POI.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 06:05pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
So, basically, Joey reached across the court to make an incorrect call in front of his partner then?
If they had called the travel on Deandre Jordan, all of this would be moot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 06:21pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
If they had called the travel on Deandre Jordan, all of this would be moot.
Yeah, moot. Historic, but moot.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 23, 2015, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
No he wasn't...the play is no different than when a player deliberately bats a rebound from his frontcourt to the backcourt.
When does it cease to be a bat and become a brief catch and throw? Perhpas he considered the offensive player's actions to be controlled and a pass rather than a bat.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2015, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
G5 FT question

Do the players not along the lane need to be outside the 3pt line during FTs in the NBA?

Take a look at where #11 of the Clippers is standing during Parker's first FT with 48.5 seconds left in the 4th Q.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2015, 12:56am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Do the players not along the lane need to be outside the 3pt line during FTs in the NBA?

Take a look at where #11 of the Clippers is standing during Parker's first FT with 48.5 seconds left in the 4th Q.
Yeah, they don't call that. It's trifling.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2015, 06:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Do the players not along the lane need to be outside the 3pt line during FTs in the NBA?

Take a look at where #11 of the Clippers is standing during Parker's first FT with 48.5 seconds left in the 4th Q.
NBA Rule 9-I-d (edited):

Players not occupying lane spaces must remain on the court behind the three point line above the free throw line extended and may not be touching the line or floor inside the line when the ball is released
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pelicans-Spurs last second tip in frezer11 Basketball 22 Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:10pm
Clippers vs Thunder Game 5 Clips (Video) APG Basketball 45 Wed May 21, 2014 09:38pm
Clippers vs OKC F1 BigT Basketball 21 Wed Mar 06, 2013 04:26pm
Memphis vs. Clippers Goal Tending Toren Basketball 10 Fri May 11, 2012 09:07am
Heel Spurs refnrev Basketball 16 Sat Apr 23, 2005 10:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1