The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 12:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
There are no "rule" differences between the two. IAABO uses NFHS rules, period. (Interpretations are perhaps a bit iffy on that, though.)

Mechanics are pretty damned close, so I'm not sure what you're talking about with "bastardized."
You're right. I meant their goofy interpretations.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 05:31am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Example ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by constable View Post
You're right. I meant their goofy interpretations.
From the March/April 2015 IAABO Sportorials Magazine:

Rules Questions For The IAABO Interpreter

1) A1 is fouled while in the act of trying for a goal. The try is not successful. A1 is awarded two free throws. The first free throw is successful. Upon the release of A1’s second free throw, B3, located in the free throw lane space nearest the free thrower, enters the free throw lane and then, with his/her foot, breaks the far plane of the free throw line prior to the ball contacting the basket ring, or the backboard. The official rules this action by B3 a violation. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes. Reference 9-1-3-D (may enter the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle is not part of the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle if “off limits” to all, excepting the free thrower, until the ball contacts the basket ring, or the backboard.)

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
From the March/April 2015 IAABO Sportorials Magazine:

Rules Questions For The IAABO Interpreter

1) A1 is fouled while in the act of trying for a goal. The try is not successful. A1 is awarded two free throws. The first free throw is successful. Upon the release of A1’s second free throw, B3, located in the free throw lane space nearest the free thrower, enters the free throw lane and then, with his/her foot, breaks the far plane of the free throw line prior to the ball contacting the basket ring, or the backboard. The official rules this action by B3 a violation. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes. Reference 9-1-3-D (may enter the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle is not part of the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle if “off limits” to all, excepting the free thrower, until the ball contacts the basket ring, or the backboard.)

Wow. Someone has too much time on their hands to even think of this scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 01:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R View Post
Wow. Someone has too much time on their hands to even think of this scenario.
Not really that uncommon a scenario. I'm guessing it'll start happening every game unless the NFHS actually makes the rule what Tom Lopes says it is.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
From the March/April 2015 IAABO Sportorials Magazine:

Rules Questions For The IAABO Interpreter

1) A1 is fouled while in the act of trying for a goal. The try is not successful. A1 is awarded two free throws. The first free throw is successful. Upon the release of A1’s second free throw, B3, located in the free throw lane space nearest the free thrower, enters the free throw lane and then, with his/her foot, breaks the far plane of the free throw line prior to the ball contacting the basket ring, or the backboard. The official rules this action by B3 a violation. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes. Reference 9-1-3-D (may enter the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle is not part of the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle if “off limits” to all, excepting the free thrower, until the ball contacts the basket ring, or the backboard.)

NFHS
1981 - revised free-throw restrictions to allow leaving marked spaces when ball is released;

1993 - player along lane may not break plane of free-throw line until ball hits backboard;

1997 - restricted movement on free-throw lane until ball touches ring or backboard.

2003 - number of players permitted on the lane during free throws reduced;

2008 - players moved up toward thrower during free throws; new free-throw mark added to designate final marked lane space;

2014 - A player occupying a marked lane space...may enter the lane on the release of the ball by the free throw shooter.

So, one may surmise that the interpretation by IAABO is well founded; and that the absence of that interpretation, by the NFHS, is another case of the NFHS simply removing a statement from their rules, w/o notice, and a lack of attention to their own rules history.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Wed Apr 15, 2015 at 10:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 02:01pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
From the March/April 2015 IAABO Sportorials Magazine:

Rules Questions For The IAABO Interpreter

1) A1 is fouled while in the act of trying for a goal. The try is not successful. A1 is awarded two free throws. The first free throw is successful. Upon the release of A1’s second free throw, B3, located in the free throw lane space nearest the free thrower, enters the free throw lane and then, with his/her foot, breaks the far plane of the free throw line prior to the ball contacting the basket ring, or the backboard. The official rules this action by B3 a violation. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes. Reference 9-1-3-D (may enter the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle is not part of the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle if “off limits” to all, excepting the free thrower, until the ball contacts the basket ring, or the backboard.)

I worked a camp this weekend under NCAA-M's rules. I called a foul from the trail when B3 displaced the free throw shooter. As I crossed paths with the Center, he told me "good get". Not a word about the play from the observer.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schools Out . . . Tim C Baseball 36 Tue Feb 17, 2009 09:41am
Ref Schools Splute Basketball 8 Thu Feb 08, 2007 05:32pm
Schools cowbyfan1 Baseball 0 Wed Apr 19, 2006 03:42am
Schools Beefkake Baseball 3 Fri Feb 01, 2002 04:48am
Should we ref at schools we are associated with rburn22281 Basketball 28 Wed Jan 09, 2002 07:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1