The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Utah v Oregon late fouls (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99504-utah-v-oregon-late-fouls-video.html)

AremRed Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 958084)
Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

No, it exists in the NFHS definition of guarding too:

NFHS 4-23-1 "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent."

The understanding is that the "path" qualification also falls under the LGP umbrella because you must first be guarding someone before can establish Legal Guarding Position. Thus if you are not in the path of the opponent you cannot be guarding them and thus cannot establish or maintain LGP.

Raymond Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 958084)
Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

Rule 4 Section 17. Guarding

Art. 1.
Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. The guarding position shall be initially established and then maintained inbounds on the playing court.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 958084)
Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

If you think about it for just a bit, it makes complete sense too.....

A1, dribbling the ball passing through the center circle, heading directly towards the basket. B5, guarding A5 in the corner of the court briefly turns to face A1 and has both feet on the floor. B5 realizes A1 has a clear path to the basket. B5 cuts across the floor at a full sprint getting in front of A1 just in time for A1 to run into the side of B5.

Did B5 ever have LGP on A1? Have you ever seen a charge called in such a play?


Another one....

A1, dribbling the ball passing through the center circle, heading directly towards the basket. B1, trailing A1, is facing A1 and briefly has both feet on the floor. B1, being faster, is able to overtake A1. B1 cuts in front of A1 such that A1 collides with the back of B1.

Did B5 ever have LGP on A1?. Have you ever seen a charge called in such a play? I haven't...it is a block 100% of the time.

jeremy341a Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 958078)
Doesn't he establish LGP at 11 seconds into the second video?

Anyone?

Raymond Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 958145)
Anyone?

He turns into the ball-handler to initiate contact, IMO.

jeremy341a Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958149)
He turns into the ball-handler to initiate contact, IMO.

That's fair. I thought some where saying he never had LGP.

Looks like he signals armbar. Does the armbar need to be extended to apply or does that matter in NCAA?

bob jenkins Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 958158)
That's fair. I thought some where saying he never had LGP.

Looks like he signals armbar. Does the armbar need to be extended to apply or does that matter in NCAA?

I think he lost LGP by the time contact occurred (as the dribbler was going "wide" to turn the corner). But, I didn't watch the video again.

And, I think he signals "chuck".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1