The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Utah v Oregon late fouls (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99504-utah-v-oregon-late-fouls-video.html)

Nevadaref Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:56am

Utah v Oregon late fouls (Video)
 
Two tough whistles go against Oregon in the final dozen seconds allowing Utah to tie, yet Oregon hits a long 3 to win it with about a second left.

The fouls to examine:
1. PC call with 12.1 seconds left
2. Handchecking foul with 7.2 remaining.

APG Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 957770)
1. PC call with 12.1 seconds left

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/P_0h97-57QQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 957770)
2. Handchecking foul with 7.2 remaining.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/mUXzKpEVBuQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

hbk314 Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:48am

As a non-official, I assume the first one was called because the player with the ball appeared to lower his shoulder?

For the second one, that seems really weak, but wasn't that a POE from last year, or am I misunderstanding?

Camron Rust Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958012)
As a non-official, I assume the first one was called because the player with the ball appeared to lower his shoulder?

For the second one, that seems really weak, but wasn't that a POE from last year, or am I misunderstanding?

Despite what some may tell you, lowering the shoulder by itself is not necessarily a foul. However, if that lowered shoulder displaces and legally position defender, it will be an offensive foul. If, instead, the defender were not legal, it would have been a defensive foul despite the shoulder being lowered.

The second one is an example of a defender not being in a legal position. He never obtained "Legal Guarding Position". That is two feet on the floor in the path of the dribbler while also facing the dribbler. Having never obtained that, the defender can't be moving if there is contact. He was moving and it disrupted the dribblers movement....thus it was a foul.

BillyMac Wed Mar 18, 2015 06:16am

Lower The Shoulder ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 958014)
Despite what some may tell you, lowering the shoulder by itself it not necessarily a foul.

Why does this myth persist among non-officials when one never hears officials, even bad officials, mention this?

bob jenkins Wed Mar 18, 2015 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 958022)
Why does this myth persist among non-officials when one never hears officials, even bad officials, mention this?

because so many players make contact by lowering the shoulder.

ballgame99 Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:28am

I don't have a problem with either of those calls. Particularly the PC.

Raymond Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:42am

PC foul was easy.

Block was marginal, IMO, but if it was called that way all game I'd have no problem with it.

Raymond Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958012)
As a non-official, I assume the first one was called because the player with the ball appeared to lower his shoulder?
...

Officials don't make calls because of "lowering a shoulder". He displaced a defender who had LGP.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 958022)
Why does this myth persist among non-officials when one never hears officials, even bad officials, mention this?

Because we do hear officials, even good officials, use that as the reason for the foul. I've heard it from some that are otherwise very good officials and expect to continue hearing it. :/

hbk314 Wed Mar 18, 2015 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958044)
Officials don't make calls because of "lowering a shoulder". He displaced a defender who had LGP.

Is there a point where displacing a defender without LGP can still be a PC foul?

Camron Rust Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958071)
Is there a point where displacing a defender without LGP can still be a PC foul?

Yes. It can occur with a pushoff/clearout using the hands/arms. If the defender is stationary but doesn't have LGP (e.g., never facing) then it can even occur with torso to torso contact. If the defender doesn't have LGP and is moving, then torso to torso contact will a block.

Raymond Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958071)
Is there a point where displacing a defender without LGP can still be a PC foul?

In NCAA-Men's, defenders in the RA arc are protected against extended arms, knees, and feet from the offensive players.

jeremy341a Wed Mar 18, 2015 02:22pm

Doesn't he establish LGP at 11 seconds into the second video?

ODog Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 958014)
The second one is an example of a defender not being in a legal position. He never obtained "Legal Guarding Position". That is two feet on the floor in the path of the dribbler while also facing the dribbler.

Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

AremRed Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 958084)
Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

No, it exists in the NFHS definition of guarding too:

NFHS 4-23-1 "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent."

The understanding is that the "path" qualification also falls under the LGP umbrella because you must first be guarding someone before can establish Legal Guarding Position. Thus if you are not in the path of the opponent you cannot be guarding them and thus cannot establish or maintain LGP.

Raymond Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 958084)
Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

Rule 4 Section 17. Guarding

Art. 1.
Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. The guarding position shall be initially established and then maintained inbounds on the playing court.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 18, 2015 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 958084)
Is the bolded portion an NCAA thing?

If you think about it for just a bit, it makes complete sense too.....

A1, dribbling the ball passing through the center circle, heading directly towards the basket. B5, guarding A5 in the corner of the court briefly turns to face A1 and has both feet on the floor. B5 realizes A1 has a clear path to the basket. B5 cuts across the floor at a full sprint getting in front of A1 just in time for A1 to run into the side of B5.

Did B5 ever have LGP on A1? Have you ever seen a charge called in such a play?


Another one....

A1, dribbling the ball passing through the center circle, heading directly towards the basket. B1, trailing A1, is facing A1 and briefly has both feet on the floor. B1, being faster, is able to overtake A1. B1 cuts in front of A1 such that A1 collides with the back of B1.

Did B5 ever have LGP on A1?. Have you ever seen a charge called in such a play? I haven't...it is a block 100% of the time.

jeremy341a Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 958078)
Doesn't he establish LGP at 11 seconds into the second video?

Anyone?

Raymond Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 958145)
Anyone?

He turns into the ball-handler to initiate contact, IMO.

jeremy341a Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958149)
He turns into the ball-handler to initiate contact, IMO.

That's fair. I thought some where saying he never had LGP.

Looks like he signals armbar. Does the armbar need to be extended to apply or does that matter in NCAA?

bob jenkins Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 958158)
That's fair. I thought some where saying he never had LGP.

Looks like he signals armbar. Does the armbar need to be extended to apply or does that matter in NCAA?

I think he lost LGP by the time contact occurred (as the dribbler was going "wide" to turn the corner). But, I didn't watch the video again.

And, I think he signals "chuck".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1