The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2015, 07:25am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I'd say that if A2 was straddling B2's leg, it is more likely that B2 had his leg extended outside the space he was entitled to.

Not always. I have seen defenders violate an offensive player's Cylinder of Verticality from the side and straddle the offensive player's leg without making contact. That still does absolve the defender from contact if his position restricts the offensive player's movement within his CoV.

I will admit that I am concerned about the phrase "hip check" that the author of the OP used and would stick with my first post in that this is a HTBT situation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2015, 09:23am
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
The defenders legs were shoulder width, and not using more than their allowed width, but B2 definitely moved his hip into A1 to make him lose his balance.

I felt that A1 had no business even trying to split the double team, so I let the contact go, but the hip movement was hard to ignore. Obviously, the coach from A saw the hip and wanted a foul.

In retrospect, I think I blew the call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2015, 09:38am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl View Post
The defenders legs were shoulder width, and not using more than their allowed width, but B2 definitely moved his hip into A1 to make him lose his balance.

I felt that A1 had no business even trying to split the double team, so I let the contact go, but the hip movement was hard to ignore. Obviously, the coach from A saw the hip and wanted a foul.

In retrospect, I think I blew the call.
The rule says A has the greater responsibility for contact; not sole responsibility. In this case, if A was getting through legally and B shifted into the path too late, it's a block on B.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1