![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
So I would like to know... If #3 doesn't get fouled he may have a chance to jump and get to the 'Pass'. But the ball is on the downward flight and has a chance to go in the basket. Goal tending? Or not because it isn't a 'Try'?
Isn't there an interp that describes an Ally-oop from behind the 3-pt arc that enters the basket will be awarded 3 points? If it is a pass, then how could it be awarded 3 points? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Note that basket interference does NOT apply to only a try or tap. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
NFHS rule Rule 5.2.1 deals with the behind the three point arc play.
NFHS rule 6.7.6 says if the ball hits a player on the head at the end of a clock - no score if it enters after the buzzer... I would hate to be trying to determine if it entered before or after a buzzer... Interestingly enough, this rule doesn't seem to at all deal with what happens if the ball enters and time doesn't expire? Question: Do we wave off a ball that enters the basket by any means other than the hands in H.S.? And back to the initial issue: If the post player being fouled in the video made contact with that pass and tipped it in, while attempting to gather the ball - would it also be waved off?
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make" |
|
|||
|
I think by rule this was probably ruled correctly...
But I also think the rule in this instance is awful.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
It would depend on whether the foul occured before or after the tip. It would still be a pass until the point where it was tapped, and a foul would cause the ball to become dead. If the tipped ball was judged to be a try for goal and the foul occured after the try, then the basket would be counted.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Video Request: Auburn-Missouri - Last play of the game | VTOfficial | Basketball | 27 | Mon Jan 13, 2014 04:00pm |
| Florida Gulf Coast vs S Florida - 0.3 sec shot | dahoopref | Basketball | 23 | Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:38pm |
| [Video Request] Backcourt off of halfcourt pass/shot? | Afrosheen | Basketball | 39 | Wed May 15, 2013 02:39pm |
| Video Request: Michigan v. Florida (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 01, 2013 06:43am |
| Video Request: Georgetown v. Florida GC (Video Added) | JRutledge | Basketball | 13 | Mon Mar 25, 2013 03:15pm |